Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Vote now for season's first Lumbers award

Figure image

There is still time to vote for the first Lumbers Player of the Month award of the season.

Back-rowers David Denton and Tommy Reffell, and fly-half George Ford are on the three-man shortlist.

Denton has settled in quickly and is already Tigers’ joint top tackler so far this season with 28. The back rower, who scored a try on his first Welford Road appearance in the pre-season game against London Irish, has also made 20 carries in league action and stolen two lineouts.

Ford passed 500 points for Tigers in the season opener at Exeter and scored 29 points in the victory over Newcastle Falcons, the most by an individual so far in the Gallagher Premiership. He also made 13 carries against Newcastle, the second highest for Tigers, and made eight tackles.

Reffell carried on his good form with Wales in the World Rugby U20s Championship into the pre-season games with Tigers. The 19-year-old made 16 tackles on his first Welford Road appearance in the game against London Irish and also won a couple of important turnovers.

Voting closes on Thursday (September 20) and the winner will be announced at the Gallagher Premiership clash with Worcester Warriors on Sunday (September 23).

Supported by High Street jewellers Lumbers and voted for by Leicester Tigers supporters, the player of the month award recognises the contributions of individual players to the team cause throughout the campaign.

Each month during the season, fans will be asked to pick their top performer from a shortlist of three players put together by the Tigers coaching staff.

The player with the most votes on the Lumbers website will win the award, which will be presented on the Welford Road pitch during half-time of a big first-team fixture.

Sam Harrison won the final vote of last season, picking up the award for April. Other winners included Dan Cole, Matt Toomua, Telusa Veainu, Greg Bateman, Valentino Mapapalangi, Jonny May and Harry Wells (twice).