Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

VOTE NOW | Gallagher Rugby Club of the Season

Figure image

Voting for the inaugural Gallagher Rugby Club of the Season is now open, with six grassroots clubs in the running to win the inaugural title.

The search began in November 2019 to find local clubs that are making a significant contribution to their local community, on and off-the-pitch.

To celebrate, each club recently received a surprise Zoom call from Gallagher ambassadors Ugo Monye and Nolli Waterman, featuring a Premiership Rugby player from their affiliated club.

The shortlisted clubs are:

  • Battersea Ironsides RFC (Harlequins)
  • Erdington RFC (Wasps Rugby)
  • Haringey Rhinos RFC (Ladies) (London Irish)
  • Kingsbridge RFC (Exeter Chiefs)
  • Longlevens RFC (Gloucester Rugby)
  • Trafford MV RFCC (Sale Sharks)

Each finalist has received a Gilbert training bundle worth £1,000 and will enjoy an exclusive ‘Train with your Heroes’ session, as well as a free business consultancy session delivered by risk management and insurance specialists from Gallagher.

Danielle ‘Nolli’ Waterman, former England rugby international and 2014 Rugby World Cup winner, said: “Grassroots rugby is so important for the development of the game and it has been wonderful to see how all six clubs have made huge strides to grow the sport in their communities and make rugby more accessible.

“It was amazing to see the reactions of each of the clubs when they were surprised by a professional player on Zoom – and we look forward to continuing to celebrate the work that they are doing to increase participation in the game.”

Ugo Monye, former England and British & Irish Lions international, said: “Gallagher has chosen six fantastic finalists, and it has been inspiring meeting all of the clubs and shining a light on the impactful work they do within their communities.

“Grassroots rugby has gone through a tough period over the last few months and the inaugural award will give a much-needed boost to the winning club.”

Get behind the six shortlisted grassroots clubs and vote now, using the link below.

T&Cs: Voting is limited to one entry per email address. Voting will open at 09:00am on August 27, 2020 and will close at 11.59pm on, September 13, 2020. Only entries received by the deadline will be eligible and count towards the number of votes for that club.

Full terms and conditions are available here.