Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Welsh win for England Under-16s

Figure image
Leicester Tigers centre Matthew Riddington shared in a two-point win for England Under-16s over their Welsh rivals at The Gnoll, Neath, on Sunday.

A 2,000 strong crowd enjoyed a tight and competitive game as England made it two wins from two games following a 32-22 victory over Scotland on the final day of the BMW Wellington International Festival last Saturday.
Head coach Steve Shortland said: “I am pleased for the boys because they have worked incredibly hard. We are delighted with the outcome but this programme is about development not results. 
“We struggled to get momentum and phase play in the first half.  At the break we talked about the need to get the forwards into slightly wider channels and to create the space for our dominant runners to get the ball in hand.  Our tries were scored by individual flare at crucial moments and got us out of jail.
“The game was very close and could have gone either way.  It was a great challenge for both teams.”
England: Tries: Isiekwe, Crossdale, Ibitoye / Conversions: Crossdale 3 / Penalty: Crossdale

Wales: Tries: Giles, Lewis, Randall / Conversions: P Jones, S Williams / Penalty: P Jones
England Under-16s:
15 Oliver Graham  (Castle School, Taunton RFC, Bath, Somerset)
14 Callum Sirker (Harrow School, Richmond RFC, London Wasps, Middlesex)
13 Matt Williams (Wellington College, London Irish)
12 Suva Ma’asi  (Wootton School, Ampthill RFC, Northampton Saints, East Mids)
11 Gabriel Ibitoye (Trinity School, Harlequins, Surrey)
10 Alistair Crossdale (Altrincham GS, Bowdon RFC, Sale, Cheshire)
9 Joshua Nott (RGS Worcester, Worcester RFC, Worcester Warriors, North Mids)
1 George Cave (Bedford School, Ampthill RFC, Northampton Saints, East Mids)
2 Henry Walker (Bromsgrove School, Spartans RFC, Gloucester, North Mids)
3 Joseph Morris (King Edward VI Aston, S. Coldfield RFC, Worcester Warriors, North Mids)
4 Ben Kelland (Royal Hospital School, Colchester RFC, Northampton Saints, EC)
5 Nick Isiekwie (Nicholas Breakspear, Old Albanians RFC, Saracens, Herts)
6 Jack Nay (The Hayesbrook School, Saracens, Kent)
7 Thomas Curry (Bishop Heber HS, Crewe & Nantwich RFC, Sale Sharks, Cheshire)
8 Ben Earl (Tonbridge School, Sevonoaks RFC, Saracens, Kent) (c)

16 Matt Kouris (Wavell School, Basingstoke RFC, London Irish, Hants) for Sirker (56min)
17 Will Vaughan (Heathfield School, Taunton RFC, Bath Rugby, Somerset) for Cave (60min)
18 Will Dennis (Selby High School, Selby RFC, Leeds, Yorkshire) for Morris (60min)
19 Kalius Hutchinson (Coundon Court, Old Coventrians, Worcester Warriors, Warks) for Isiekwie (57min)
20 Zac Xiourouppa (Ellesmere College, Shrewsbury RFC, Worcester Warriors, North Mids) for Kalland (20min)
21 Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh School, Falcons, CND) for Nott (52min)
22 Matthew Riddington  (Oakham School, Leicester Tigers, Leics) for Ma’asi (59min)
23 Reuben Bird-Tulloch (Eltham College, Blackheath RFC, Saracens, Kent) for Williams (52min)