Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Young England XV downed by Barbarians

Figure image
An England XV captained by Leicester Tigers lock Graham Kitchener went down 39-29 to the Barbarians at Twickenham on Sunday afternoon.

All Black wing Hosea Gear scored a late brace to inspire the invitational side to victory in a helter-skelter contest that featured eight tries in front of 50,498 spectators.
The hosts led 18-14 at half-time but were eventually undone as their opponents’ 700 caps worth of experience told in the second period.
Kitchener was joined in the starting XV by Tigers teammate Jamie Gibson with prop Fraser Balmain among the replacements.
Scores from David Ewers, Charlie Sharples and Henry Slade, who scored 16 points from fly-half, kept England in the hunt but an engaging non-cap international turned on Gear's second-half scores, with Mamuka Gorgodze, Benson Stanley and Juan Martin Hernandez also crossing for the Barbarians.
England XV (v Barbarians)
15 Elliot Daly (London Wasps)
14 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby & Army)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
12 Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
11 Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
10 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
9 Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
1 Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
2 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
4 Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks)
5 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)(c)
6 Jamie Gibson (Leicester Tigers)

7 Luke Wallace (Harlequins)
8 Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)

16 Tommy Taylor (Sale Sharks)
17 Fraser Balmain (Leicester Tigers)
18 Will Collier (Harlequins)
19 Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
20 James Gaskell (Sale Sharks)
21 Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)
22 Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby)
23 Rob Miller (Sale Sharks)
15 Juan Martin Hernandez (Racing Metro & Argentina)
14 Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand)
13 Rene Ranger (Montpellier & New Zealand)
12 Benson Stanley (Clermont & New Zealand) 
11 Hosea Gear (Toulouse & New Zealand)
10 Brock James (Clermont)
9 Jimmy Cowan (Gloucester & New Zealand)
1 Sona Taumalolo (Perpignan & Tonga)
2 Ti‘i Paulo (Clermont & Samoa)
3 Davit Kubriashvili (Stade Francais & Georgia)
4 Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster & Ireland)
5 Juandre Kruger (Racing Metro & South Africa) 
6 Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Lyon & Argentina, Captain) 
7 Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont & France)
8 Mamuka Gorgodze (Montpellier & Georgia)
16 Andrew Hore (Maniototo & New Zealand)
17 Julien Brugnaut (Racing Metro & France)
18 Nahuel Lobo (Montpellier & Argentina)
19 Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa)
20 Roger Wilson (Ulster & Ireland)
21 Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano & Argentina)
22 Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier & France)
23 Anthony Tuitavake (Montpellier & New Zealand)