Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Young Tiger named in Wales Under-18 squad

Figure image

Leicester Tigers academy fly-half Sam Costelow has been included in a 26-man squad named by the Welsh Rugby Union for the upcoming Under-18s Six Nations Festival.

Costelow was a mainstay in the Tigers side throughout the Academy League programme, including a key role in the No10 shirt in the Grand Final win over Gloucester at Allianz Park.

The Oakham School student is the second age-grade representative from Tigers to be named for Wales this season, after development squad back-rower Tommy Reffell was named captain of the Under-20s side for their Six Nations campaign.

Reffell was also a member of the Welsh Under-18s squad last summer while in the Tigers academy.

After naming his squad, Wales head coach Chris Horsman said: "Every match will expose the players to different styles of play and test the players, but our big focus will be on ourselves.

"We want to provide an environment to enable the players to improve in the long term by giving them the tools and skills to work out how to do this for themselves."

Wales will face France first up this weekend, followed by Ireland and Italy.

Costelow's Tigers team-mates Henri Lavin and George Martin are included in England's squad for the tournament which is based in Wales.

Wales Under-18 Squad:

Forwards: Robert Brookson (Coleg Gwent/Dragons) Ben Carter (Caldicot/Dragons) Ioan Rhys Davies (Coleg y Cymoedd/Cardiff Blues) Archie Griffin (Marlborough College/Exiles) Will Griffiths (Coleg Gwent/Dragons) Cameron Lewis (Coleg Sir Gar/Ospreys) Jac Morgan (Coleg Sir Gar/Ospreys) Jac Price (Coleg Sir Gar/Ospreys) William Sanderson (Coleg Llandrillo/RGC) Carwyn Tuipulotu (Sedbergh School/Exiles) Olly White (Llandovery College/RGC) Callum Williams (Ysgol Maes Y Gwendraeth/Scarlets) Teddy Williams (Ysgol Gantaf/Cardiff Blues) Luke Yendle (Newport High/Dragons)

Backs: Ellis Bevan (Bryanston/Exiles) Dafydd Buckland (Newport High/Dragons) Sam Costelow (Oakham School/Leicester Tigers) Harri Doel (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Frankie Jones (Neath-Port Talbot College/Ospreys) Osian Knott (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Evan Lloyd (Coleg Gwent/Dragons) Ioan Lloyd (Clifton College/Exiles) Aneurin Owen (Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw/Dragons) Louis Rees-Zammit (Hartpury College/Exiles) Joe Roberts (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets) Josh Thomas (Ysgol Gyfun Gwyr/Ospreys)