Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Academy fly-half lines up against England

Figure image

Leicester Tigers academy fly-half Sam Costelow starts in the No10 shirt for Wales Under-18s in their game against England this Sunday.

Wales won the corresponding fixture last year as the teams meet in a final fixture before the inaugural Under-18 Six Nations Festival to be played over three days at Ystrad Mynach  and Cardiff Arms Park at Easter. 

Costelow, a student at Oakham School, was part of the Tigers squad that won the Academy Under-18 League Final a fortnight ago.

Two of his club colleagues from that occasion, forwards Cameron Jordan and George Martin, are in the England Under-18 squad this season but neither is involved in Sunday’s fixture at Sardis Road in Pontypridd.

Wales Under-18s: 15 Ioan Davies (Glantaf), 14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Hartpury), 13 Deon Smith (Coleg Gwent), 12 Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Neath-Port Talbot College), 11 Ben Cambriani (Gower College), 10 Sam Costelow (Oakham School), 9 Ellis Bevan (Bryanston); 1 Taylor Hansen (Coleg Gwent), 2 Dom Booth (Coleg Sir Gar), 3 Luke Yendle (Newport High), 4 Lewis Jameson (Whitchurch High), 5 Jac Price (Coleg Sir Gar), 6 Iestyn Rees (c) (Ysgol Bro Dinefwr), 7 Ioan Rhys Davies (Coleg y Cymoedd), 8 Callun James (Coleg y Cymoedd)
Replacements: 16 Morgan Nelson (Hartpury), 17 Charlie Brabham (Filton), 18 Archie Griffin (Marlborough), 19 Teddy Williams (Glantaf), 20 Jac Morgan (Coleg Sir Gar), 21 Dafydd Buckland (Newport High), 22 Evan Lloyd (Coleg Gwent), 23 Osian Knott (Coleg Sir Gar)

England Under-18s: 15 Kieran Wilkinson - Sale Sharks (Kirkham Grammar School), 14 Ollie Sleightholme - Northampton Saints (Northampton School for Boys), 13 Ollie Lawrence - Worcester Warriors (Bromsgrove School), 12 Jack Reeves – Gloucester Rugby  (Hartpury College), 11 Jacob Morris - Gloucester Rugby (Hartpury College), 10 Tom de Glanville - Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School), 9 Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti - Newcastle Falcons (Durham School); 1 Olly Adkins - Gloucester Rugby (Hartpury College), 2 Will Capon - Bristol Rugby (Bristol Grammar School), 3 Alfie Petch - Exeter Chiefs (Exeter College), 4 Tom Jeanes - Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School), 5 Rouban Birch - Sale Sharks (Sedbergh School), 6 Richard Capstick - Exeter Chiefs (Exeter College), 7 Sam Dugdale - Sale Sharks (Kirkham Grammar School), 8 Tom Marshall - Newcastle Falcons (Gosforth Academy)
Replacements: 16 Kapeli Pifeleti - Saracens (Haileybury), 17 Bevan Rodd - Sale Sharks (Sedbergh School), 18 Jack Bartlett - Gloucester Rugby, 19 JJ Tonks - Gloucester Rugby (Hartpury College), 20 Rus Tuima - Exeter Chiefs (Exeter College), 21 Blake Boyland - Bristol Rugby (SGS College), 22 Will Simonds - Wasps (The Henley College), 23 Reece Dunn - Gloucester Rugby (St Peter's High School)