Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Academy trio chase third win with England

Figure image

George Martin, Jack Van Poortvliet and Joe Browning are all included in the matchday squad as England Under-18s defend their unbeaten record in the Six Nations festival against France on Sunday.

England head coach Jim Mallinder again names Leicester Tigers forward Martin in the second row – after starting as captain in the wins over Wales and Ireland – with scrum-half Van Poortvliet and wing Browning among the replacements.

Mallinder said: “What I want to see from the players on Sunday is how they adapt to a different threat and challenge from France.

“Ireland played with quite a structured style, they put us under a lot of pressure defensively and we struggled to get the ball but we defended well. We know France are going to be completely different and will challenge us in a different ways so I’m looking forward to seeing how we react to that.

“I also want to see the players enjoy this final match. We’ve have a good tournament so far, it’s been great that we’ve been winning but we’ve also been learning a lot as we’ve progressed through it.”

England against France is a 1.40pm kick-off at Kingsholm Stadium, Gloucester on Sunday, with live coverage on FreeSports TV.

England Under-18s
15 Joe Carpenter Yorkshire Carnegie (Woodhouse Grove)
14 Jack Bates Bristol Bears (SGS College)
13 Tom Roebuck Sale Sharks (Wirral Grammar)
12 Orlando Bailey Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)
11 Jude Williams Wasps (Caterham School)
10 Tom Curtis Sale Sharks (Sedbergh School)
9. Raphael Quirke Sale Sharks (St Ambrose College)
1 Phil Brantingham Newcastle Falcons (Royal Grammar School)
2 John Stewart Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)
3 Luke Green London Irish (St Paul’s Catholic College)
4 George Martin Leicester Tigers (Brooksby Melton College)
5 Archie Benson Gloucester Rugby (Dean Close School)
6 Jack Clement Gloucester Rugby (Cheltenham College)
7 Josh Gray Gloucester Rugby (Dean Close School)
8 Nahum Merigan Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff School)
16 Sam Riley Harlequins (St George's Weybridge)
17 Harry Fry Gloucester Rugby (Hartpury College)
18 Fin Baxter Harlequins (Wellington College)
19 Ewan Richards Bath Rugby (Millfield School)
20 Ollie Stonham Saracens (Felsted School)
21 Will Trenholm Harlequins (Cranleigh School)
22 Jack van Poortvliet Leicester Tigers (Oakham School)
23 Phil Cokanasiga London Irish (St Pauls College)
24 Joe Browning Leicester Tigers (Denstone College)
25 George Worboys Bath Rugby (Beechen Cliff)