Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Academy wing starts for England Under-18s

Figure image
Leicester Tigers Academy wing Paolo Odogwu makes his first appearance in the European Championships with England Under-18s against hosts France on Tuesday.Odogwu is included in the starting line-up, while club colleague Will Evans is named among the replacements. Openside flanker Evans was among the try-scorers in the 85-5 win over Portugal in England’s opener on Friday.   Fly-half Theo Brophy Clews captains a side in Blagnac which shows 10 changes to the starting XV from the first game.   “It’s important for us to carry the momentum from the Portugal fixture into the game against France,” said head coach John Fletcher.   “I thought we showed real positivity to go out there and play like we did [against Portugal]. France will provide strong opposition so we’ll need to continue to improve and and I’ve every confidence that the team can do that.”   England Under-18s 15 Darren Atkins (Bath Rugby, Millfield School) 14 Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins, Wellington College) 13 Dominic Morris (Saracens, New Hall School) 12 Max Malins (Saracens, Felsted) 11 Paolo Odogwu (Leicester Tigers, Leicester Grammar School) 10 Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish, Abingdon School) (c) 9 Alex Mitchell (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS) 1 Jake Pope (Sale Sharks, Myerscough College) 2 Dan Frost (Bath Rugby, Filton College) 3 Charlie Capps (Prince Henry’s, Yorkshire Carnegie) 4 Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College) 5 Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, Haileybury College) 6 Archie White (Harlequins, Epsom College) 7 Will Allman (Northampton Saints, Trent College) 8 Zack Mercer (Bath Rugby, Merchiston Castle School)   Replacements: 16 Curtis Langdon (London Irish, St Pauls Sunbury) 17 Oliver Dawe (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College) 18 Jack Edmondson (Bath Rugby, Sherborne) 19 Tim Cardall (Northampton Saints, Moulton College) 20 Joe Craggs (Newcastle Falcons, Gosforth Academy) 21 Will Evans (Leicester Tigers, Wyggeston & QEI College) 22 Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs) 23 Mark Dixon (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS) 24 Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry’s) 25 Gabrial Ibitoye (Harlequins, Trinity College) 26 Johnny McPhillips (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School)