Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Allen and Waldrom return to Tigers

Figure image
Anthony Allen and Thomas Waldrom have been released back to Leicester Tigers from the England squad preparing for the third autumn international this weekend.

Six of their Tigers team-mates remain with a 24-man England squad at Pennyhill Park as they build-up to Saturday’s QBE International against South Africa at Twickenham.

Dan Cole, Geoff Parling, Tom Youngs, Toby Flood, Manu Tuilagi and Ben Youngs are the Tigers players who stay with the England squad, while Allen and Waldrom return to Leicester ahead of the Aviva Premiership match away to London Wasps on Sunday.

England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We have made some changes this week to freshen up the squad before the challenge of South Africa. Unfortunately that means one or two players miss out who were in the matchday squad against Australia. But they have all added value with their contributions in training and the games and I am sure they will be looking to play well for their clubs and force their way back in.

"The changes give opportunities to those who have been pushing hard and we feel will add energy and balance to the team ahead of the significant South African challenge.”

England squad:

Mouritz Botha (Saracens)
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
James Haskell (London Wasps)
Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
David Paice (London Irish)
Tom Palmer (London Wasps)
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)(c)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Chris Ashton (Saracens)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

The following 11 players have been released back to their clubs.
Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Ugo Monye (Harlequins)
George Robson (Harlequins)
Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers)