Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Allen in Saxons side for Churchill Cup Final

Figure image
Anthony Allen has been named in the England Saxons side to face Canada in Saturday's Churchill Cup Final (kick off 7.45pm BST).

Saxons will be captained from the second row by new Leicester Tigers signing George Skivington while former Tigers Tom Varndell and Ollie smith are named among the replacements.

Head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “Selection has been difficult, for the right reasons. The players have had a fantastic attitude throughout our three weeks and there were some tight calls. We also realise that the replacements will play a key role and that has been in our thoughts.

“It has been a long season for all the players but they are looking forward to one last effort in the final.”

England Saxons (vs Canada, New Jersey, Saturday, June 19, 7.45pm BST)
15 Alex Goode (Saracens)
14 James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby)
13 Jon Clarke (Northampton Saints)
12 Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers)
11 Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby)
10 Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)
9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
1 Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)
2 Andy Titterrell (Leeds Carnegie)
3 Alex Corbiserio (London Irish)
4 James Hudson (Newcastle Falcons)
5 George Skivington (Captain, London Wasps)
6 Tom Wood (Worcester Warriors)
7 Andy Saull (Saracens)
8 Luke Narraway (Gloucester Rugby)

16 Rob Vickers (Newcastle Falcons)
17 Duncan Bell (Bath Rugby)
18 Graham Kitchener (Worcester Warriors)
19 Kearnan Myall (Leeds Carnegie)
20 Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)
21 Ollie Smith (Harlequins)
22 Tom Varndell (London Wasps)