Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Allen to captain Tigers for LV= Cup tie

Figure image
Anthony Allen will captain Leicester Tigers for the first time in Friday's LV= Cup tie against Bath Rugby at Welford Road (7.30pm).

The centre is among six internationals recalled by director of rugby Richard Cockerill for the final pool match in the Anglo-Welsh competition.

Argentina duo Horacio Agulla and Lucas Amorosino are named in the backline, while Jeremy Staunton returns at fly-half. Steve Mafi starts in the back row and Marcos Ayerza is named among the replacements.

Flanker Ben Woods is included for his first start since returning from injury and England international centre Dan Hipkiss retains a place in midfield after his first start of 2011 in the trip to Exeter Chiefs last weekend.

“We had a difficult first half at Exeter last week but a young team made a really good fist of it in the second half and they will learn from the experience,” said Cockerill.

“We have players away for the internationals, including three of our England Under-20s this weekend, but we’ve brought in a bit more experience and we pride ourselves on playing well at home. We’re into a tough part of the season and we want every member of the squad ready for the challenge.”

Bath are captained by back-row forward Luke Watson while former Tigers favourite Sam Vesty starts at fly-half.

Tickets for Friday’s game are available now from the Tigers ticket office. Phone the hotline on 0844 856 1880, call in at Welford Road (8.30am-5pm Thursday and all day Friday) or book online at www.leicestertigers.com and collect on the way to the game.

Leicester Tigers (v Bath Rugby, Welford Road, Friday 7.30pm)
15 Horacio Agulla
14 Matt Smith
13 Dan Hipkiss
12 Anthony Allen (c)
11 Lucas Amorosino
10 Jeremy Staunton
9 James Grindal
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Rob Hawkins
3 Peter Bucknall
4 Calum Green
5 Ed Slater
6 Steve Mafi
7 Ben Woods
8 Thomas Waldrom

16 Joe Duffey
17 Marcos Ayerza
18 Camilo Parilli-Ocampo
19 Dan Hemingway
20 Pieter Myburgh
21 Luix Roussarie
22 Lee Robinson
23 Andy Forsyth

Bath Rugby 15 Nick Scott, 14 Matt Carraro, 13 Ben Williams, 12 Olly Barkley, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 Sam Vesty, 9 Mark McMillan, 1 David Flatman, 2 Pieter Dixon, 3 Duncan Bell, 4 Stuart Hooper, 5 Danny Grewcock, 6 Andy Beattie, 7 Luke Watson (c), 8 Simon Taylor Replacements 16 Ted Stagg, 17 David Barnes, 18 Kane Palma Newport, 19 Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe, 20 Ben Skirving, 21 Matt Keyte, 22 Paul Roberts, 23 Jacques Boussuge