Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Australia name squad ahead of Welford Road trip

Figure image
Australia have named a squad of 36 players for their autumn tour - and the historic fixture against Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Tuesday, November 9.

Head coach Robbie Deans takes the squad to Hong Kong this weekend ahead of the Bledisloe Cup match against the All Blacks on October 30 and then brings the Qantas Wallabies to Europe.

Rocky Elsom, man of the match when Leinster beat Tigers in the final of the 2009 Heineken Cup at Murrayfield, is selected as captain and the tour squad also includes big names Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Mark Chisholm, Matt Giteau and Nathan Sharpe.

Pat McCutcheon leads a quartet of Commonwealth Games silver medallists called up after a strong showing in the Sevens tournament in Delhi. Winger Lachie Turner and the uncapped Nick Phipps and Luke Morahan are also included.

At the other end of the experience scale, Queensland Reds lock Van Humphries is celebrating his first call-up to the national squad at age 34. He will become Australia’s oldest-ever Test debutant if selected for any of the five internationals on the tour.

With the Rugby World Cup just a year away, the entire squad will be hoping to nail down a place.

Tickets for the visit of the two-time world champions to Welford Road are on sale now from the Tigers ticket office. Prices start at £15 standing, £18 seating.

Book online at www.leicestertigers.com, phone the Tigers hotline on 0844 856 1880 or call in at the Tigers ticket office.

Qantas Wallabies Squad for the 2010 Tour:
Ben Alexander (Brumbies, prop), age 25, 19 caps
Adam Ashley-Cooper (Brumbies, full-back/wing) 26, 46
Berrick Barnes (Waratahs, centre/fly-half) 24, 26
Kurtley Beale (Waratahs, full-back) 21, 9
Richard Brown (Western Force, back row) 26, 22
Luke Burgess (Waratahs, scrum-half) 27, 27
Mark Chisholm (Brumbies, lock) 29, 53
Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds, fly-half) 22, 19
Rod Davies (Queensland Reds, wing) 21, 0
Ben Daley (Queensland Reds, prop) 22, 3
Huia Edmonds (Brumbies, hooker) 29, 3
Rocky Elsom (Brumbies, flanker, captain) 27, 59
Anthony Faingaa ((Queensland Reds, centre) 23, 4
Saia Faingaa (Queensland Reds, hooker) 23, 9
Will Genia (Queensland Reds, scrum-half) 22, 18
Matt Giteau (Brumbies, centre) 28, 87
Scott Higginbotham (Queensland Reds, flanker) 24, 0
Matt Hodgson (Western Force, flanker) 29, 4
Peter Hynes (Queensland Reds, wing) 28, 22
Van Humphries (Queensland Reds, lock) 34, 0
Salesi Ma’afu (Brumbies, prop) 27, 10
Pat McCabe (Brumbies, centre/wing/full-back) 22, 0
Ben McCalman (Western Force, lock/back row) 22, 4
Pat McCutcheon (Waratahs, flanker) 23, 0
Drew Mitchell (Waratahs, wing) 26, 50
Stephen Moore (Brumbies, hooker) 27, 51
Luke Morahan (Queensland Reds, wing) 20, 0
Dean Mumm (Waratahs, lock/back row) 26, 29
James O’Connor (Western Force, full-back) 20, 23
Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels, scrum-half) 21, 0
David Pocock (Western Force, flanker) 22, 25
Benn Robinson (Waratahs, prop) 26, 37
Nathan Sharpe (Western Force, lock) 32, 88
Rob Simmons ((Queensland Reds, lock) 21, 4
James Slipper (Queensland Reds, prop) 21, 9
Lachie Turner (Waratahs, wing) 23, 12