Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Barbarians call-up for legend Thorn

Figure image
Brad Thorn has been added to the Barbarians squad for their fixtures against Ireland and England after playing his final game for Leicester Tigers on Saturday.World Cup winner Thorn played his last professional game after 22 seasons in the Aviva Premiership semi-final defeat at Bath on Saturday but joked afterwards: “I’m not gone yet, I’m hoping to get a couple of games for the Barbarians!”   Today the 40-year-old lock has been added to the squad alongside Ugo Monye, who has also announced his retirement this season, and Ulster scrum-half Ruan Pienaar.   Head coach Robbie Deans has called up players from 10 countries with a combined 786 international caps as the famous invitation club prepares to face Ireland at Thomond Park on Thursday and an England XV at Twickenham next Sunday.   Thorn’s Leicester team-mates Ed Slater and Mathew Tait are included in the England squad for the fixture next Sunday.   The Barbarians squad also includes former Tigers back-rowers Shane Jennings, Pablo Matera and Thomas Waldrom.   Tickets for the Ireland v Barbarians match are from €;30 and family (1 adult & 1 junior) terrace packs from €;25 at www.ticketmaster.ie or 0818 719 300.   Tickets for the England XV v Barbarians match are from £35 and £15 for juniors (U16) at www.ticketmaster.co.uk or 0844 847 2492.   BARBARIANS SQUAD Backs (13) Gio Aplon (Grenoble & South Africa) Stephen Brett (Lyon) Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina) Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues & Wales) Yoshi Fujita (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan) James Gopperth (Leinster) Zane Kirchner (Leinster & South Africa) Ugo Monye (Harlequins & England) Wynand Olivier (Montpellier & South Africa) Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa) Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath & Samoa) Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand) David Smith (Toulon)   Forwards (18) Matias Diaz (Pampas & Argentina) Jason Eaton (La Rochelle & New Zealand) Deon Fourie (Lyon) Shane Jennings (Leinster & Ireland) Pablo Matera (Pampas & Argentina) Konstantin Mikautadze (Toulon & Georgia) Ryu Koliniasi Holani (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan) Adam Jones (Cardiff Blues & Wales) Rodrigo Capo Ortega (Castres & Uruguay) George Smith (Lyon & Australia) Saimone Taumoepeau (Castres & New Zealand) Rodrigo Tejerizo (Tucuman & Argentina) Brad Thorn (Leicester Tigers & New Zealand) Gerhard Vosloo (Toulon) David Ward (Harlequins) Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs & England) George Whitelock (Panasonic Wild Knights & New Zealand)