Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Barbarians name multi-national team

Figure image
The Barbarians include internationals from eight countries for the 125th anniversary match against Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Tuesday evening (7.30pm).

The Barbarians starting line-up includes Australia wing Nick Cummins and All Blacks trio Frank Halai, Francis Saili and Domini Bird who all started the match against Australia at Twickenham on Saturday.
Springboks flanker Heinrich Brussow comes into the back row of a team led by Scotland lock Alastair Kellock.
Also included are internationals Marnitz Boshoff (South Africa), Fumiaki Tanaka (Japan), Mahonri Schwalger (Samoa), Sean Duke and Jason Marshall (Canada), Matt Stevens (England/British & irish Lions) and Juan de Jongh who played at Welford Road for South Africa in 2009.
Australian squad member Tom English has been drafted into the squad after receiving a special dispensation to play and will rejoin the Wallabies after the game.
Worcester Warriors hooker Neil Annett has also been added to the line-up.
“We’re very grateful to the head coaches of Australia, Canada and Worcester for releasing these players to join us,” said Barbarians head coach Sir John Kirwan.
“It’s a great gesture on the part of Michael Cheika, Kieran Crowley and Dean Ryan, and we hope all four players enjoy their time with us."
Annett, Duke and Marshall linked up with the Barbarians today after fly-half Colin Slade and hooker James Parsons were called into the New Zealand squad for their international series.
The Barbarians come to Welford Road after a thrilling 40-36 defeat by Australia in an 11-try contest at Twickenham.
The game was rounded off by a long-range try from fly-half Boshoff that ranks as one of the club’s greatest and he starts against the Tigers.
Japanese scrum-half Tanaka, Stormers flanker Michael Rhodes and veteran Sharks back row Jacques Botes also come into the starting line-up and Blues flier Tevita Li makes his first appearance at full-back.

Tickets for Tuesday's match are still available from the Tigers ticket office, open 8.30am-5pm Monday and 8.30am up to kick-off on Tuesday. Call in at Welford Road or phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2). Or book online by clicking here and pick up your tickets at the Collection Point outside the MET-Rx Stand on the way to the game tomorrow.
15 Tevita Li (Blues)
14 Frank Halai (Blues & New Zealand)
13 Juan de Jongh (Stormers & South Africa)
12 Francis Saili (Blues & New Zealand)
11 Nick Cummins (Coca Cola West Red Sparks & Australia)
10 Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions & South Africa)
9 Fumiaki Tanaka (Highlanders & Japan)
1 Lourens Adriaanse (Sharks)
2 Mahonri Schwalger (Chiefs & Samoa)
3 Thomas Du Toit (Sharks)
4 Dominic Bird (Canterbury & New Zealand)
5 Al Kellock (Glasgow & Scotland, Captain)
6 Michael Rhodes (Stormers)
7 Heinrich Brussow (Cheetahs & South Africa)
8 Jacques Botes (Sharks)
Replacements (from):
Niall Annett (Worcester Warriors)
Jason Marshall (Hawke’s Bay & Canada)
Matt Stevens (Sharks & England)
Angus Ta’avao (Blues)
Steven Luatua (Blues & New Zealand)
Matt Todd (Crusaders & New Zealand)
Adam Thomson (Canon Eagles & New Zealand)
Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs)
Sean Duke (UVIC & Canada)
Tom English (Rebels)