Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Big night in store for Supporters' Awards

Figure image
Voting has now closed in the Leicester Tigers Supporters Player of the Year awards. The winners will be revealed at the sell-out Awards Night at Welford Road, in the company of the Tigers squad, on Tuesday (April 30).

Supporters have now made their choice in four categories – Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and the Outstanding Service Award – and the Try of the Season will be chosen on the night of the awards.

As well as hearing from each of the winners and other key members of the playing squad and coaching team, we’ll be sharing some of the video highlights of the season and re-living some of the best moments of the campaign so far.

There is also a chance for supporters to help present the awards as part of the club’s support for CDKL5 UK, an official Tigers charity this season.

CDKL5 UK is a new charity set up to raise awareness of a rare genetic condition and to provide support for families as well as raise funds for research. The charity is close to heart of the club as one of its driving forces is matchday doctor Martyn Newey whose daughter Eleanor was diagnosed with the condition. She has severe developmental delay, is unable to walk or talk, and needs 24-hour care. She is one of about 700 children in the world with a CDKL5 disorder, including 50 in the UK and at least two in Leicester.

The charity will be selling raffle tickets on Awards Night with prizes including England training kit signed by the Tigers internationals, a rugby ball signed by Martin Johnson and two signed shirts donated by StubHub, plus the chance to present awards to your Tigers favourites.

Supporters can also use the Awards Night photo-booth and have their photo taken with the Tigers backdrop to take home a special souvenir of their evening.

Recent Supporters’ Awards winners

Player of the Season: Horacio Agulla
Young Player of the Season: Steve Mafi
Newcomer of the Year: Julian Salvi
Outstanding Service: George Chuter
Try of the Season: Horacio Agulla

Player of the Season: Thomas Waldrom
Young Player of the Season: Manu Tuilagi
Newcomer of the Season: Thomas Waldrom
Outstanding Service: Julian White
Try of the Season: Anthony Allen

Player of the Season: Scott Hamilton
Young Player of the Season: Ben Youngs
Newcomer of the Season: Geoff Parling
Outstanding Service: Lewis Moody
Try of the Season: Martin Castrogiovanni

Player of the Season: Aaron Mauger
Young Player of the Season: Matt Smith
Newcomer of the Season: Scott Hamilton
Outstanding Service: Ben Kay
Try of the Season: Julien Dupuy

Player of the Season: Johne Murphy
Young Player of the Season: Tom Croft
Newcomer of the Season: Ben Herring
Outstanding Service: Geordan Murphy
Try of the Season: Tom Varndell