Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Castro and Seru return for Leinster clash

Figure image
Martin Castrogiovanni and Seru Rabeni both return from injury to take their place in the Tigers team for this Saturday’s Heineken Cup clash with Leinster at Welfford Road (kick-off 3.30pm).

Castrogiovanni missed last weekend’s trip to Edinburgh, while Rabeni was absent for that fixture and the previous match away to Harlequins. The Italian international prop is named at loosehead, with Tigers’ Fijian star wearing the No12 shirt.

The rest of the backline is the same as that which featured at Murrayfield, with the exception  of Frank Murphy who comes in at scrum-half.

Tigers skipper Martin Corry and Lewis Moody are added to the injury list, as are Dan Hipkiss and Aaron Mauger. Back row Tom Croft also misses out after taking a knock in the match with Edinburgh.

“We have picked the best team available,” said Tigers head coach Marcelo Loffreda. 

“We have a lot of trust and belief in this team. We trust in all the squad and we go into this game with a lot of confidence in this team. We are going to look for what we look for in every game. It doesn’t matter now if we have the option or not of qualifying. This is important for our pride, for the club, for the spectators and, most of all, for ourselves.”

Tigers vs Leinster

15. Geordan Murphy
14. Johne Murphy
13. Ollie Smith
12. Seru Rabeni
11. Tom Varndell
10. Andy Goode
9. Frank Murphy

1. Martin Castrogiovanni
2. Benjamin Kasyser
3. Julian White
4. Louis Deacon
5. Marco Wentzel
6. Brett Deacon
7. Ben Herring
8. Jordan Crane


16. George Chuter
17. Marcos Ayerza
18. Dave Young
19. Ben Kay
20. Ben Youngs
21. Ian Humphreys
22. Ayoola Erinle