Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Classic All Blacks reveal Sunday's line-up

Figure image
Daryl Gibson, Justin Marshall, Carlos Spencer and Carl Hayman have been named in the Classic All Blacks starting line-up to face Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Sunday (3pm kick-off).

The visitors’ XV boasts nearly 250 caps for New Zealand, with scrum-half Marshall leading the way with 81 Test appearances.

He will join new Leinster signing Isa Nacewa at half-back, with former Tigers favourite Gibson lining up at centre in a backline which also features his Glasgow colleague Lome Faatau, the top try-scorer in the 2006 Super 14 season. Northampton Saints’ Spencer is at full-back.

The forwards are led by Hayman and also include Auckland Blues captain Troy Flavell and Ospreys No8 Filo Tia Tia who has played against Tigers in two EDF Energy Cup Finals at Twickenham.

Classic All Blacks team manager Sean Fitzpatrick, the man who captained New Zealand on more than 50 occasions, said: “If you talk to any of the players, the chance to pull on a black jersey with a silver fern on it means a lot to them.

“It’s a lot of fun but there is also a responsibility on the guys to front up and deliver a good result.”

Tickets are still available for Sunday’s game between Leicester Tigers and the Classic All Blacks, via the Tigers ticket office.

Supporters can buy on the day but, as a large walk-up crowd is expected, you are advised to order your tickets in advance.

Friday is the final day for season ticket holders and members to take advantage of the special discounted prices.

To book your tickets, call 08701 28 34 30, log on to http://www.leicestertigers.com/ or call in at Welford Road. The ticket office is open until 5pm Friday, 9am-2pm on Saturday and from 9am on Sunday.

Classic All Blacks team
15 Carlos Spencer
14 Lome Faatau
13 Scott McLeod
12 Daryl Gibson
11Roger Randle
10 Isa Nacewa
9  Justin Marshall
1 Carl Hayman
2 Slade McFarland
3 Joe McDonnell
4 Troy Flavell
5 Simon Maling
6 Angus McDonald
7 Josh Blackie
8 Filo Tia Tia

16 Sam Anderson–Heather
17 Deacon Manu
18 Mark Sorenson
19 Paul Miller
20 Mark Robinson
21 Keith Lowen 
22 Ben Bersma