Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Crane caps Saxons victory in Chicago

Figure image
An England Saxons squad including four Leicester Tigers players retained the Barclays Churchill Cup with a 36-19 victory over Scotland A in Chicago on Saturday.

George Chuter, Jordan Crane and Ollie Smith lined up in Saxons shirts in the final, while clubmate Richard Blaze also played his part in the earlier fixtures.

Tigers prop Dave Young wore the No3 shirt for Scotland in the final, while Frank Murphy started Ireland A’s 33-8 victory over Argentina Pumas in the Churchill Plate Final earlier in the day. Ignacio Mieres lined up at fly-half for the South Americans.

After an early exchange of kicks in the final, Tigers duo Crane and Smith combined to create an opportunity for Bath wing Matt Banahan to score the opening try, his sixth of the tournament, and give England a 13-6 lead.

That advantage was cut to four points before half-time but Crane completed a 50-metre run-in to the line with five minutes remaining to stretch the England lead to 31-19 before Ugo Monye added a final touchdown.

Crane also collected the Barclays Man of the Series award at the final whistle.

England Saxons: 15 Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby), 14 Ugo Monye (Harlequins), 13 Ollie Smith (Leicester Tigers), 12 Anthony Allen (Gloucester Rugby), 11 Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby), 10 Ryan Lamb (Gloucester Rugby), 9 Paul Hodgson (London Irish); 1 Alex Clarke (Bristol Rugby), 2 George Chuter (Leicester Tigers), 3 Jack Forster (Gloucester Rugby), 4 Chris Jones (Sale Sharks), 5 George Skivington (London Wasps), 6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), 7 Will Skinner (Harlequins, captain), 8 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers)

Replacements: 16 Andy Titterrell (Gloucester Rugby), 17 Tom French (London Wasps), 18 Stuart Hooper (Leeds Carnegie), 19 Steffon Armitage (London Irish), 20 Lee Dickson (Newcastle Falcons), 21 Adrian Jarvis (Harlequins), 22 Ben Foden (Sale Sharks)

Scotland A: 15 Steve Jones (Newcastle Falcons), 14 Mark Robertson (Edinburgh), 13 Rob Dewey (Ulster), 12 Calum MacRae (Edinburgh), 11 Roland Reid (Edinburgh), 10 Gordon Ross (Saracens), 9 Colin Gregor (Glasgow Warriors), 1 Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors), 2 Fergus Thomson (Glasgow Warriors, captain), 3 Dave Young (Leicester Tigers), 4 Fergus Pringle (Edinburgh), 5 Dan Turner (Glasgow Warriors), 6 James Eddie (Glasgow Warriors), 7 Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh), 8 Stevie Swindall (Glasgow Warriors)

Replacements: 16 Andrew Kelly (Edinburgh), 17 Stuart Corsar (Rotherham), 18 Jon Dunbar (Leeds Carnegie), 19 Scott Newlands (Edinburgh), 20 Mark McMillan (Wasps), 21 David Blair (Edinburgh), 22 Jim Thompson (Edinburgh)