Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Croft nominated for players' awards

Figure image
Leicester Tigers and England forward Tom Croft has been nominated for Young Player of the Year by his peers at this season’s PRA Computacenter Rugby Players Awards.

Croft has established himself in the Tigers squad and gained his first senior recognition with England during 2007/08. He is joined on the shortlist, voted for by members of the Professional Rugby Players’ Association, by Danny Cipriani (London Wasps), Danny Care (Harlequins), James Haskell (London Wasps) and Chris Robshaw (Harlequins).

Cipriani, who also made his England debut this season, is aiming for a double after being nominated for the Players’ Player of the Year award too.

The 10th annual PRA Awards will be attended by more than 100 players who will show their support for the association and its registered charity, the PRA Benevolent Fund, which assists players who have suffered serious injury or illness.

Damian Hopley, PRA chief executive, said: “This promises to be another outstanding evening attended by a number of stars from the Guinness Premiership and the international game.

“There is a lot of excitement about the bright future for English rugby and this is an opportunity for the PRA and rugby supporters to show our thanks and appreciation to the players for their efforts this season and to raise some much-needed funds for deserving player causes.”
Nominations in full:
PRA Computacenter Players’ Player of the Year
Olly Barkley - Bath
Danny Cipriani – London Wasps
Riki Flutey – London Wasps
Paul Sackey – London Wasps
James Simpson-Daniel - Gloucester
PRA Mercedes-Benz Young Player of the Year – The Nick Duncombe Memorial Trophy
Danny Care - Harlequins
Danny Cipriani – London Wasps
Tom Croft – Leicester Tigers
James Haskell – London Wasps
Chris Robshaw – Harlequins