Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Dans back in Leicester Tigers line-up

Figure image
England internationals Dan Hipkiss and Dan Cole return to the Leicester Tigers team for Saturday's home game against Leeds Carnegie.

Hipkiss missed the trip to London Wasps last Saturday after picking up an ankle injury in the victory over Exeter Chiefs in the opening home game of the season, while Cole comes into the front row.

“It’s great to have Dan Hipkiss back fully fit, especially with some other injuries in the backline,” said director of rugby Richard Cockerill.

“In the forwards we have a number of quality options to choose from and Dan Cole gets his starting place this week.

“Our attack has been pretty good in the opening three games, we just have to make sure our defence is better. We have to be more accurate in what we’re doing.”

The replacements bench includes recent signings Rob Hawkins, Steve Mafi and Horacio Agulla.

Tickets for Saturday’s game are on sale now. Phone the Tigers ticket hotline on 0844 856 1880, book online at www.leicestertigers.com or call in at the Welford Road ticket office before 5pm on Friday or from 9am on Saturday.

Leicester Tigers (v Leeds Carnegie, Welford Road, Saturday 3pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (c)
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Dan Hipkiss
12 Billy Twelvetrees
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Jeremy Staunton
9 Ben Youngs
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 George Chuter
3 Dan Cole
4 Ed Slater
5 George Skivington
6 Tom Croft
7 Ben Woods
8 Thomas Waldrom

16 Rob Hawkins
17 Boris Stankovich
18 Martin Castrogiovanni
19 Steve Mafi
20 Craig Newby
21 James Grindal
22 Horacio Agulla
23 Manu Tuilagi

Leeds Carnegie have made three changes to their side after defeat by Saracens last week. Head coach Neil Back and director of rugby Andy Key recall full-back Leigh Hinton, fly-half Ceiron Thomas and blindside Rhys Oakley.

Leeds Carnegie:
15 Leigh Hinton
14 Lee Blackett
13 James Tincknell
12 Scott Barrow
11 Mike Stephenson
10 Ceiron Thomas
9 Scott Mathie
1 Mike MacDonald
2 Steve Thompson
3 Juan Gomez
4 Tom Denton
5 Marco Wentzel (c)
6 Rhys Oakley
7 Hendre Fourie
8 Daniel Browne

16 Andy Titterell
17 Gareth Hardy
18 Phil Swainston
19 Danny Paul
20 Sean Hohneck
21 Warren Fury
22 Semi Tadulala
23 Henry Faafili