Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Deacon back in Tigers line-up for Saturday

Figure image
Louis Deacon will make his first appearance of the season when Leicester Tigers run out against Newcastle Falcons in Aviva Premiership at Welford Road on Saturday (3pm).

The England international lock has overcome a back injury to take his place in the side for the first time since the Premiership Final in May.

Deacon’s return is timely following long-term injuries to Geoff Parling (knee) and Ben Pienaar (Achilles).

Lee Robinson makes his first Aviva Premiership start for the club on the wing as Scott Hamilton moves to full-back in the absence of Geordan Murphy who is on international duty with Ireland.

Jordan Crane, who led out the team in the LV= Cup tie against Harlequins three weeks ago, will captain the side in a league fixture for the first time.

Tickets for Saturday’s match are available now. Call the Tigers ticket hotline on 0844 856 1880, call in at the Welford Road ticket office (open 8.30am-5pm Friday and from 9am on matchday) or book online.

Leicester Tigers (vs Newcastle Falcons, Welford Road, Saturday 3pm)
15 Scott Hamilton
14 Lee Robinson
13 Matt Smith
12 Anthony Allen
11 Manu Tuilagi
10 Billy Twelvetrees
9 James Grindal
1 Peter Bucknall
2 George Chuter
3 Julian White
4 Louis Deacon
5 George Skivington
6 Thomas Waldrom
7 Craig Newby
8 Jordan Crane (c)

16 Rob Hawkins
17 Jonny Harris
18 Ryan Bower
19 Ed Slater
20 Steve Mafi
21 Jason Spice
22 George Ford
23 Andy Forsyth

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Jeremy Manning, 14 Luke Fielden, 13 Tane Tu'ipulotu, 12 Luke Eves, 11 Gcobani Bobo, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Micky Young; 1 Grant Shiells, 2 Kieran Brookes, 3 Micky Ward, 4 James Hudson (c), 5 Tim Swinson, 6 Brent Wilson, 7 Redford Pennycook, 8 Ally Hogg. Replacements: 16 Sean Crombie, 17 Darren Fearn, 18 James Hall, 19 Glen Townson, 20 Will Welch, 21 Chris Pilgrim, 22 Michael Tait, 23 Tom Catterick