Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Development XV packed with first-teamers

Figure image
Leicester Tigers Development XV have named 12 first-team squad members in their starting line-up for Monday night's Guinness A League encounter with Newcastle at Welford Road (kick-off 7pm).

 The pack includes seven players with first-team experience, while the backline includes five players who have been included in first-team matchday squads so far in 2007/08.

Brett Deacon returns from a neck injury to form a formidable back row partnership with Tom Croft and Ben Herring, while Alex Moreno, Gavin Hickie and Dave Young are an all first-team front row. Richard Blaze is joined at lock forward by England U-19 international Gregor Gillanders, who has benefited from regular rugby with National One side Coventry this season.

Ian Humphreys and Christophe Laussucq are the preferred half-back combination, with Ben Youngs named among the replacements.

Ayoola Erinle also makes his comeback from injury with an appearance at outside centre alongside Tom Youngs, with Sam Vesty the experienced player in a back three that also includes promising young wings Vavae Tuilagi and Nathaniel Lowers.

Season ticket holders should have received tickets for this evening’s match in the post but, if you haven’t, don’t panic, all you need to do is show your season ticket voucher at the turnstiles for free admission.

Tickets are just £5 for non-members and £1 for juniors.

Additional tickets for season ticket holders, members and their guests are available from the ticket office free of charge. All you need to do is fill out the form on the reverse of the ticket to claim your free entry.  

Tigers Development XV vs Newcastle (Welford Road, kick-off 7pm)

15 Sam Vesty
14 Vavae Tuilagi
13 Ayoola Erinle
12 Tom Youngs
11 Nathaniel Lowers
10 Ian Humphreys
9 Christophe Laussucq

1 Alex Moreno
2 Gavin Hickie
3 Dave Young
4 Gregor Gillanders
5 Richard Blaze
6 Tom Croft
7 Ben Herring
8 Brett Deacon

Replacements from

Dan Cole
Greg Sammons
Chris Mundy
Ben Pienaar
Greig Tonks
Ben Youngs
Will Lawson/Jack Cobden