Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

End-of-season squad update

Figure image
Leicester Tigers can confirm a number of changes in the playing squad this summer in preparation for the 2015/16 season.The departures of Robert Barbieri (Treviso), Neil Briggs (Sale Sharks), Tom Bristow (Wasps), Jamie Gibson (Northampton Saints), Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs), Greg Peterson (Glasgow), Tom Price (Scarlets), Julian Salvi (Exeter Chiefs) and Blaine Scully (Cardiff Blues) have already been announced.   Louis Deacon announced his retirement during the season after winning six Premiership titles with Tigers, while Brad Thorn has announced his retirement and will become a development coach at Queensland Reds in Australia. Scott Hamilton is joining Coventry as player-coach after seven years at Leicester.   The club can also confirm that Terrence Hepetema, David Mele, Javiah Pohe, Jack Whetton and Rhys Williams from the 2014/15 squad will not be at Welford Road next season.   Tigers have already announced a number of new signings, including Greg Bateman (Exeter Chiefs), Peter Betham (Waratahs), Mike Fitzgerald (Chiefs), Opeti Fonua (London Welsh), Jono Kitto (Chiefs), Lachlan McCaffrey (London Welsh), Brendon O’Connor (Auckland Blues) and Mike Williams (Worcester Warriors).   Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: “Some great servants of the club are moving on this summer and we thank them all for their efforts and achievements in Tigers colours.   “Scott Hamilton, Geoff Parling and Julian Salvi, in particular, have enjoyed very successful careers with Leicester Tigers, playing in grand finals and other big occasions here. They have been excellent ambassadors for the club and reached the highest levels playing for the club. "We wish them, and all of the other players who move on this summer, all the very best for the future.   “We have been working hard on the make-up of the squad for next season, agreeing new contracts with many of our senior first-team players, including Marcos Ayerza, Tom Youngs, Dan Cole, Graham Kitchener, Owen Williams and Mathew Tait, while also looking to add to our strength in other areas.   “A number of new signings have already been confirmed and we look forward to their arrival, together with new head coach Aaron Mauger, this summer. We remain active in the marketplace too and hope to bring in some more players to add to what we have already got.”