Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England Counties to face Academy this weekend

Figure image
England Counties Under-18s warm up for the International Triangular Festival at Hartpury College by playing the Leicester Tigers Under-19s at Oval Park this Saturday.England finalised their 24-strong for the festival after a training session at Loughborough University last weekend and will use this week’s match to prepare for their festival opener against a France team selected from their regional academies.   “We will get more of an idea of who comes to the party after the Leicester match but I am excited about the squad and  I was pleased with way that the squad gelled last weekend,” said Dave Reed, the England Counties Under-18s lead coach.   “They are a good bunch, they have got good values and they have really bought into the sort of environment we are trying to create.   “It’s a really short programme and they have got to buy into it straight away. We are not going to change lives in three weeks but we are going to give them the best rugby experience we can.”   Kick-off at Oval Park is at noon on Saturday.   England Counties Under-18s Backs: Jacob Atkins( St Pauls School, Bracknell RFC & Berkshire), Myles Bean (King Edward VI School, Bedford Blues RFC & Warwickshire), Ruaridh Dawson (Newcastle School for Boys, Blaydon RFC & Northumberland), Connor Hayhow (St Paul’s School, Bracknell RFC & Berkshire), Aaron Martin (Bilton School, Bedford Blues RFC & Warwickshire), William Newett (Leeds GS & Yorkshire), James Shillcock (Warwick School, Worcester RFC & Warwickshire), James Spencer (Queen Elizabeth GS, Penrith RFC & Cumbria), Benjamin Usher (The Priory Academy, Newark RFC, & Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire), Fergus Wood (Ardingly College, Hove RFC & Sussex). Forwards: Harrison Berresford (Hautlieu School, Jersey RFC & Hampshire), Jack Conteh (Myerscough College, Sale Sharks & Lancashire), Tom Doughty (St Bartholomews School, Hove RFC & Sussex), Joseph Duffy (Myerscough College, Sale Sharks & Lancashire), Cameron Gray (The Oratory School, Maidenhead RFC & Berkshire), Max Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College, Malvern RFC & North Midlands), Kiaran Knight (St Peter’s School, Matson RFC & Gloucestershire), Owen MacCuish (Sandbach School, Sandbach RFC & Cheshire), John McKenzie (Runshaw College, Preston Grasshoppers RFC & Lancashire), Dylan Morris (Reed’s School, Wimbledon RFC & Surrey), Joshua Novell (Bedes School, Crowborough RFC & Sussex), Matthew Palphreyman (Wirral GS, Wirral RFC & Cheshire), Justin Rowland (George Abbot School, Chobham RFC & Surrey), John Whittaker (Sandbach School, Sandbach RFC & Cheshire).