Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England draw Wales and Australia

Figure image
England have been drawn against Wales and two-time winners Australia in the group stages of the 2015 World Cup.

Host nation England, who went into today’s draw at the Tate Modern art gallery in London, on the back of a 38-21 win over defending champions New Zealand, will be joined in Pool A by two qualifiers, Oceania 1 – possibly Vereniki Goneva’s Fiji – and the play-off winner.

Logovi’i Mulipola’s Samoa are in Pool B alongside Scotland, South Africa and two qualifiers, Asia 1 and Americas 2.

Pool C could see Marcos Ayerza and Steve Mafi face each other after Argentina and Tonga were drawn in a group that also contains the All Blacks, plus Europe 1 and Africa 1.

And Martin Castrogiovanni’s Italy have landed France, Ireland, Americas 1 and Europe 2.

The tournament kicks off on September 18, 2015, with Twickenham staging the final six weeks later.

2015 World Cup group-stage draw:
Pool A: Australia, England, Wales, Oceania 1, Play-off Winner
Pool B: South Africa, Samoa, Scotland, Asia 1, Americas 2
Pool C: New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga, Europe 1, Africa 1
Pool D: France, Ireland, Italy, Americas 1, Europe 2