Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

England name unchanged team to face Italy

Figure image
Martin Johnson has named an unchanged team for England's RBS 6 Nations clash with Italy at Twickenham on Saturday (2.30pm).

Leicester Tigers players Dan Cole, Louis Deacon, Toby Flood and Ben Youngs retain their starting places for the game after helping England begin their Championship campaign with a 26-19 win over Wales at the Millennium Stadium last week. Gloucester Rugby centre Mike Tindall captains the side.

England team manager Johnson has made one change to his matchday squad with Leeds Carnegie flanker Hendre Fourie replacing Joe Worsley (London Wasps) on the bench.

Tigers prop Martin Castrogiovanni will win his 73rd international cap after being named in the Italy front row.

Italy head coach Nick Mallett has made four changes to his side with Pablo Canavosio replacing the injured scrum-half Edoardo Gori and Kristopher Burton dropping to the bench in favour of Luciano Orquera at fly-half.

In the forwards, Valerio Bernabo replaces flanker Josh Sole and Carlo Antonio Del Fava comes in for Santiago Dellape, who is among the replacements.

England (v Italy, Twickenham Stadium, Saturday, February 12, 2.30pm)
15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
13 Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby, captain)
12 Shontayne Hape (Bath Rugby)
11 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
10 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
7 James Haskell (Stade Francais)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)

16 Steve Thompson (Leeds Carnegie)
17 David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
18 Simon Shaw (London Wasps)
19 Hendre Fourie (Leeds Carnegie)
20 Danny Care (Harlequins)
21 Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)
22 Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)

Italy: McLean (Benetton Treviso), Masi (Racing Metro), G Canale (Clermont Auvergne), Sgarbi (Benetton Treviso), Mirco Bergamasco (Racing Metro) Orquera (Brive), Canavosio (MPS Aironi) S Perugini (MPS Aironi), Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso), Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers), Antonio Del Fava (MPS Aironi), Geldenhuys (MPS Aironi), Bernabo (Benetton Treviso), Zanni (Benetton Treviso), Parisse (Stade Français). Replacements: Ongaro (MPS Aironi), Lo Cicero (Racing Metro), Dellape (Racing Metro), Barbieri (Benetton Treviso), Semenzato (Benetton Treviso), Burton (Benetton Treviso), Garcia (Benetton Treviso).