Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Academy News

Perkins included in England 18s squad

Figure image

Leicester Tigers Academy squad member George Perkins has been included in the England Under-18 squad to tour South Africa in the summer.

Perkins, who attends Denstone College, featured in the Under-18 League campaign during the 21/22 season and was a replacement in the Leicester Tigers matchday squad on Finals Day in February.

England U18 men’s head coach, Jonathan Pendlebury, included Perkins among the 26-man squad named on Thursday afternoon.

The three-match international series takes place in the Cape Town area between Sunday 14 and Monday 29 August.

Speaking about the squad selection, Pendlebury said: “This is an exciting overseas tour for this U18s group and for a good majority of them it will be their first time putting on an England shirt.

“Seven of last year’s U18s are returning to the squad and will add to their experiences as well as those of the player group overall.

"I know they will all be looking forward to the opportunity, will work hard with their academies through the summer, support one another and embrace the opportunity that playing overseas against different nations brings. Experiences that will develop their game over the long term.” 

England Under-18 squad
Finn Baker (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School)  
Jack Bennett (Bath Rugby, Monkton Combe School)  
Tom Burrow (Yorkshire Academy, Heckmondwike Grammar School)  
Tom Burton (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School)  
Conor Byrne (Harlequins, Trinity College)  
Frank Chatterton (Sale Sharks, Stockport Grammar School)  
Toby Cousins (Northampton Saints, Oakham School)  
George Edson (Exeter Chiefs, Truro College)  
Will Glister (Wasps, City of Oxford College)  
Ioan Jones (Gloucester Rugby, Dean Close School)  
Loic Keasey (Worcester Warriors, RGS Worcester)  
Sean Kerr (Harlequins, Whitgift School)  
Archie McParland (Northampton Saints, Stowe School)  
Barney Merrett (Saracens, Sutton Valence School)  
Alex O’Driscoll (Wasps, Berkhamsted)  
Jacob Oliver (Newcastle Falcons, Barnard Castle School)  
George Perkins (Leicester Tigers, Denstone College)  
Henry Pollock (Northampton Saints, Stowe School)  
Tye Raymont (Yorkshire Academy, Bishop Burton School)  
*Ben Redshaw (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School)  
Billy Sela (Bath Rugby, Beechen Cliff)  
Olamide Sodeke (Saracens, Gravesend Grammar School)  
*Rory Taylor (London Irish, Wellington College)  
Louie Trevett (Bristol Bears, Clifton College)  
Raff Weston (Bath Rugby, Beechen Cliff)  
Will Wootton (Sale Sharks, Sedbergh School)  

*Capped at U18 level in the 2021-22 season.