Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Evans starts semi-final with England

Figure image
Will Evans retains his place in the England back row for Monday's World Rugby Under-20 Championship semi-final against South Africa at Manchester City Academy Stadium.

England Head Coach Martin Haag has made six changes to his side as England head into the last four of the competition as the top seeds.
Max Malins is selected at full-back, while Sam Aspland-Robinson and Max Green also return to the starting XV. Prop Billy Walker and No8 Callum Chick earn recalls, while Jack Singleton is named at hooker in place of the injured Jack Walker.
“The challenge for us now is to keep improving and we are excited about the opportunity,” said Hagg. “The players have been absolutely superb and we need to make sure we come out the other side with a victory.”
Haag is expecting a physical and direct approach from South Africa and has urged his side to raise to that challenge.
“The players are hugely motivated about playing in a home semi-final which is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for them at this level,” he said.
“The support for us has been huge, the fans have been absolutely superb. We want to make that stadium a fortress and there is no better feeling for those players standing on that pitch and singing the national anthem with a full stadium behind them.”
Ireland and Argentina contest the other semi-final.
England U20 (v South Africa, Monday 7.45pm, live on Sky Sports 3)
15 Max Malins (Saracens)
14 Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins)
13 Joe Marchant (Harlequins)
12 Johnny Williams (London Irish)
11 Matt Gallagher (Saracens)
10 Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints)(c)
9 Max Green (Yorkshire Carnegie)
1 Lewis Boyce (Yorkshire Carnegie)
2 Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors)
3 Billy Walker (Saracens)
4 Stan South (Harlequins)
5 Huw Taylor (Worcester Warriors)
6 George Nott (Sale Sharks)
7 Will Evans (Leicester Tigers)
8 Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons)

16 Charlie Piper (Harlequins)
17 Tom West (Wasps)
18 Will Stuart (Wasps)
19  Andrew Kitchener (Worcester Warriors)
20 Jack Willis (Wasps)
21 Harry Randall (Gloucester Rugby)
22 Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie)
23 Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby)