Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Falcons line-up for Saturday

Figure image
Newcastle Falcons have made three changes to their side for Saturday's Guinness Premiership trip to Leicester Tigers.

Junior All Black centre Tane Tu'ipulotu makes his first outing of the season after a neck injury. Gcobani Bobo moves to the right wing as Rob Vickerman continues at outside centre.

Hall Charlton starts at scrum-half as an elbow injury sidelines Micky Young, while Mark Sorenson comes into the second row instead of Tim Swinson.

Fly-half Jimmy Gopperth is named after recovering from an ankle injury, but he faces a fitness test on matchday and Rob Miller stands by to slot in.

Falcons director of rugby Steve Bates said: "Even in defeat last year I felt as if we went to Welford Road and gave a creditable defensive performance. So while it is a tough place to go, it is not somewhere that holds any fear for us.

"They've started with a narrow loss and a narrow win, neither of which was exactly flowing rugby, and they have a few injury concerns as well. It's a big day for them with opening the new stand and perhaps all of those things add up to put them under a little bit of pressure.

"We see this as a great opportunity to go and take them on, and we're excited to have this chance of spoiling their party."

Injuries rule out Spencer Davey, Michael Tait, Chris Micklewood, Danny Williams and Josh Afu.

Newcastle Falcons:
15 Alex Tait
14 Gcobani Bobo
13 Rob Vickerman
12 Tane Tu'ipulotu
11 Tom Biggs
10 Jimmy Gopperth
9 Hall Charlton
1 Jon Golding
2 Rob Vickers
3 Carl Hayman (captain)
4 James Hudson
5 Mark Sorenson
6 Brent Wilson
7 Ed Williamson
8 Filipo Levi

16 Matt Thompson
17 Micky Ward
18 Laurence Ovens
19 Tim Swinson
20 Adam Balding
21 Chris Pilgrim
22 Rob Miller
23 Charlie Amesbury