Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Five Tigers named to face Pumas on Saturday

George Ford, Jonny May, Manu Tuilagi and Ben Youngs have been included in the starting side for England's Pool C fixture against Argentina on Saturday (October 5) at the Rugby World Cup.

Their Tigers team-mate Dan Cole has been named among the replacements for the match, with Ellis Genge missing out due to the return of Mako Vunipola from injury.

Ford will start a third straight match at fly-half for England after leading the team to victory over USA in their last outing, while Youngs will also make his third appearance after being used a substitution in the match against America.

Tuilagi, who was man of the match in England's opener against Tonga, and Jonny May return for their second appearances at the 2019 tournament after being rested for the game against USA.

Cole, if used, will make a third appearance of the tournament and join Youngs in reaching 92 internationals, which will see the pair overtake Jonny Wilkinson in to equal third on the all-time men's appearance list for England.

Incoming Tigers lock Tomas Lavanini will face-off against his future Leicester team-mates after being named in the second-row for Argentina ahead of Saturday's match.

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 35 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 38 caps)
13 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 36 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 75 caps) C
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 61 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 91 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 64 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 41 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 27 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 30 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 37 caps)
6 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 15 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 47 caps)

16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 17 caps)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 54 caps)
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 91 caps)
19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 77 caps)
20 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)
21 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 6 caps)
22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps)