Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Ford among Euro award nominations

Leicester Tigers fly-half George Ford has been included in a list of 15 players in the running for the EPCR European Player of the Year award.

Ford, top points-scorer in the Gallagher Premiership so far this season and part of England’s squad for the Six Nations, is among the four English-based players on the longlist for the European honour revealed today.

Stade Toulousain’s Antoine Dupont, the current holder of the EPCR European Player of the Year award and World Rugby Player of the Year, is again in the running for one of the game’s most prestigious accolades after being confirmed among the 15 players who have delivered outstanding performances during the pool stage of the tournament.

The winner of the award, which is in its 12th season, will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy named in memory of the former Munster coach and captain.

Voting is now open HERE and fans who vote will be in the running to win a signed ball and a signed jersey courtesy of one of the Heineken Champions Cup finalist clubs.

The list will be reduced to five players after the Heineken Champions Cup and EPCR Challenge Cup semi-finals, by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judging panel.

Players who have not been included in the initial longlist but who make a significant impact during the knockout stages may be considered for the shortlist.

Voting will then re-open and the winner will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final in Marseille in May.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2022 nominees

Grégory Alldritt (Stade Rochelais)

Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)

Caelan Doris (Leinster)

Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)

Gaël Fickou (Racing 92)

George Ford (Leicester Tigers)

Michael Lowry (Ulster)

Jimmy O'brien (Leinster)

Jack O'donoghue (Munster)

Damian Penaud (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears)

Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

Marcus Smith (Harlequins)

Josh Van Der Flier (Leinster)

Cameron Woki (Bordeaux-Bègles)