Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Ford and Harrison nominated for LV= award

Figure image
Sam Harrison and George Ford have been shortlisted for the LV= Breakthrough Player Award, which aims to recognised a young player who has stood out in this season's competition.

The Academy graduates have played a part in all Tigers’ LV= Cup games this season, helping Leicester to the top of Pool 2 going into the last group match this Saturday against Newcastle Falcons at Welford Road.

The half-backs started the 19-9 victory over Harlequins at the Stoop, with Harrison named man-of-the-match and Ford kicking two conversions to add to his points haul in this year's competition.

They are on a 20-man shortlist, which will be whittled down to six by a panel of rugby experts including Martin Bayfield (ITV) and Ieuan Evans (Sky). Supporters will then take control and vote for their chosen player at www.lv.com/rugby

The player with the highest number of nominations will receive a Tag Heuer watch plus £1,000 donated to a local grassroots club of their choice and the inaugural LV= Breakthrough Player trophy.

England interim head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It’s great to see LV= recognising the talent on offer in this competition through the LV= Breakthrough Player Award.

"There is a huge wealth of up and coming talent on show in the LV= Cup, and we’ve seen first-hand some of the exceptional players it has helped produce.”

Voting begins on Monday, February 6 via LV.com/rugby, and closes at midnight on Sunday, March 11. The winner will be announced on Tuesday 13 March.

LV= Cup Breakthrough Player shortlist
Pool 1
Bath Rugby – Olly Woodburn, Tom Heathcote
Saracens – Jamie George
London Wasps – Elliot Daly
Ospreys - Matthew Morgan

Pool 2
London Irish – Jonathan Joseph, Steve Shingler
Leicester Tigers – George Ford, Sam Harrison
Cardiff Blues - Dan Fish
Sale Sharks – Rob Miller

Pool 3
Scarlets - Adam Warren, Liam Williams
Harlequins – Luke Wallace
Newcastle Falcons – Joel Hodgson
Gloucester Rugby – Jonny May

Pool 4
Northampton Saints – Jamie Elliott
Exeter Chiefs - Dave Ewers
Newport Gwent-Dragons - Steffan Jones
Worcester Warriors – Matt Kvesic