Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Four Tigers in for Calcutta Cup clash

George Ford and Jonny May will start for England against Scotland on Saturday, with Leicester Tigers clubmates Ben Youngs and Ellis Genge among the replacements.

Head coach Eddie Jones brings Mako Vunipola, George Kruis, Lewis Ludlam and Willi Heinz into the starting line-up following defeat by France in the opening game last weekend, while Jonathan Joseph starts at centre after replacing the injured Manu Tuilagi early in the game in Paris.

Uncapped duo Tom Dunn and Ben Earl are included on the bench alongside Joe Launchbury as he returns from injury.

Jones said: “Preparation this week has been great. We have sought to address the issues from the France game and have had a really good and sharp preparation for Scotland.

“Scotland like to play with a lot of width and with a lot of flow and tempo in their game. We want to make sure we dominate the gain-line.”

Tuilagi is ruled out by a groin injury which forced his early withdrawal in Paris and has been released back to his club to continue his recovery.

There is live coverage on BBC.

England (v Scotland, Murrayfield, Saturday 4.45pm)

15 George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 48 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 80 caps)(c)
11 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 40 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 66 caps)
9 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 10 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 58 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 46 caps) 
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 32 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 35 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 42 caps)
6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 7 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 16 caps) 
8 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 20 caps)


16 Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)
18 Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 62 caps)
20 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 82 caps)
21 Ben Earl (Saracens, uncapped)
22 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 96 caps)
23 Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, 73 caps) (c), 14 Sean Maitland (Saracens, 45 caps), 13 Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors, 24 caps), 12 Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors, 10 caps), 11 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh, 18 caps), 10 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors, 17 caps), 9 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, 29 caps); 1 Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh, 4 caps), 2 Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors, 47 caps), 3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, 26 caps), 4 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors, 9 caps), 5 Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors, 56 caps), 6 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh, 15 caps), 7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh, 29 caps), 8 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh, 11 caps).

Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally (Edinburgh, 34 caps), 17 Allan Dell (London Irish, 29 caps), 18 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh, 24 caps), 19 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh, 23 caps), 20 Nick Haining (Edinburgh, 1 cap), 21 George Horne (Glasgow Warriors, 11 caps), 22 Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints, 4 caps), 23 Chris Harris (Gloucester, 15 caps).