Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Frank to face the Barbarians

Figure image
Leicester Tigers scrum-half Frank Murphy has been named in the Ireland squad for a match against the Barbarians at Gloucester next Tuesday.

Murphy, who played for Ireland A in last year’s Barclays Churchill Cup and has been named in the squad for that tournament again this summer, has been named among the replacements for Tuesday’s match by coach Michael Bradley.

Bradley said: "These games are always exciting, high-tempo matches. From that perspective it will be good preparation for us as we head into the tour where the teams have been playing a fast and loose game under the new ELV's.

"The Barbarians game will be important for the players to get up to that pace of play before we arrive in New Zealand and also for the Churchill Cup players in the match squad ahead of their tour.”

Ireland Team:
15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
14 Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster)
13 Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
12 Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
11 Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
10 Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
9 Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
1 Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)
2 Rory Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
3 Mike Ross (Harlequins)
4 Bob Casey (London Irish)
5 Malcolm O'Kelly (St Mary's College/Leinster)
6 Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
7 Shane Jennings (St Mary's College/Leinster)
8 Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster)
16 Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster)
17 Tom Court (Ballymena/Ulster)
18 Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)
19 Neil Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
20 Frank Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
21 Jonathon Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster)
22 Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College/Leinster)