Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan back for Ireland

Figure image
Geordan Murphy makes his first appearance of the autumn internationals for Ireland in Sunday's Test against Argentina.

The Leicester Tigers captain earns his 69th cap after being named at full-back in place of the injured Rob Kearney.

Tigers colleagues Marcos Ayerza, Horacio Agulla and Lucas Amorosino are all named in the Argentina squad for the game at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

Agulla makes his first international appearance of the season on one wing, with Amorosino earning his eighth Test cap on the opposite flank. Ayerza is among the replacements.

Ireland: 15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers), 14 Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), 13 Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (c), 12 Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), 11 Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster), 10 Jonathan Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster), 9 Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster); 1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), 2 Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), 3 Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster), 4 Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster), 5 Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster), 6 Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster), 7 David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster), 8 Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster). Replacements: 16 Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster), 17 Tom Court (Malone/Ulster), 18 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), 19 Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster), 20 Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster), 21 Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster), 22 Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)

Argentina: 15 Martin Rodriguez, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Marcelo Bosch, 11 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 10 Felipe Contepomi (capt), 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Juan Fernandez Lobbe, 7 Julio Farias Cabello, 6 Genaro Fessia, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Martin Scelzo, 2 Mario Ledesma, 1 Rodrigo Roncero.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Santiago Guzman, 20 Alvaro Galindo, 21 Alfredo Lalanne, 22 Lucas Borges.