Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan faces Tigers team-mates at Twickenham

Figure image
Geordan Murphy will line up against four of his Leicester Tigers team-mates after being recalled to Ireland's starting XV for Saturday's match against England.

Tigers club captain Murphy returns to the Ireland full-back slot after missing the November internationals due to a shoulder injury. He has been called up after injury to Rob Kearney.

Lewis Moody and Dan Cole are included in England’s XV, with club colleagues Louis Deacon and Toby Flood among the replacements.

England team manager Martin Johnson has named an unchanged starting line-up, though Lee Mears, Joe Worsley and Ben Foden are added to the bench in place of Steve Thompson, Steffon Armitage and Matt Mullan.

Prop John Hayes will become the first Irish player to reach 100 Test caps for his country.

Former Tigers forwards Leo Cullen and Shane Jennings are among the Irish replacements.

England team (v Ireland, Twickenham, Saturday 4pm)
15 Delon Armitage (London Irish)
14 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
13 Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks)
12 Riki Flutey (CA Brive)
11 Ugo Monye (Harlequins)
10 Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)
1 Tim Payne (London Wasps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Simon Shaw (London Wasps)
5 Steve Borthwick (Saracens, captain)
6 James Haskell (Stade Francais)
7 Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)

16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
17 David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
18 Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
19 Joe Worsley (London Wasps)
20 Paul Hodgson (London Irish)
21 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
22 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)

15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
14 Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
12 Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
10 Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
9 Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin/Munster)
1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
3 John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
4 Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5 Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
6 Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
7 David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
8 Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

16 Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17 Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
18 Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
19 Shane Jennings (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
20 Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21 Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
22 Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)