Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan named in 39-man Ireland squad

Figure image
Leicester Tigers full-back Geordan Murphy has been named in a 39-man Ireland squad for the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

The 30-year-old Murphy, who has 59 caps, has been selected by Ireland coach Declan Kidney for the Championship which begins against France in Croke Park in two weeks’ time.

Kidney said: “We want to continue to develop a panel and bringing in 39 players allows to us to work with the players on this basis.  As well as bringing the players through the systems of the team, it allows for the usual knocks the players might pick up. 

“The core group of players who were part of the November squad have maintained their form but it is also pleasing to be able to bring in players who are really developing this season like Darren Cave and Tom Court as well as more established players who have performed well over the last number of weeks”. 

A nine man A team panel of players has also been selected which will be supplemented by players from the senior panel for the game against the England Saxons at Donnybrook Stadium on February 6.

The senior squad for the France game and the squad for the A game will be announced at the end of the next week. Both teams will be announced on Tuesday, February 3.

Ireland Squad, RBS 6 Nations Championship 2009
Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Ian Dowling (Shannon - Munster)*
Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College - Leinster)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins - Ulster)*
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne - Leinster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster - Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College - Leinster)
Shane Horgan (Boyne - Leinster)
Robert Kearney (UCD - Leinster)
Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
Brian O'Driscoll (UCD - Leinster)
Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution - Munster)
Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin - Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Wasps)
Jonathan Sexton (St Mary's College - Leinster)*
Peter Stringer (Shannon - Munster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena - Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena - Ulster)

Rory Best (Banbridge - Ulster)
Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon - Ulster)*
Bob Casey (London Irish)
Tom Court (Ballymena - Ulster)*
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon - Ulster)
Jerry Flannery (Shannon - Munster)
John Hayes (Bruff- Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf - Leinster)*
Jamie Heaslip (Naas - Leinster)
Marcus Horan (Shannon - Munster)
Bernard Jackman (Clontarf - Leinster)
Shane Jennings (St Mary's College - Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution - Munster)
Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution - Munster)
Paul O'Connell (Young Munster - Munster)
Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution - Munster)
Malcolm O’Kelly (St Mary’s College - Leinster)
Alan Quinlan (Shannon - Munster)
Mike Ross (Harlequins)*
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon - Munster)
David Wallace (Garryowen - Munster)
*denotes uncapped player 

A Team Panel
Isaac Boss (Ballymena - Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers -Connacht)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians - Connacht)
Ian Humphreys (Ballymena - Ulster)
Keith Matthews (Buccaneers - Connacht)
John Muldoon (Galwegians - Connacht)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf - Leinster)
Neil Best (Northampton)
John Andress (Exeter)