Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan to face the Welsh

Figure image
Geordan Murphy has retained his place in the Ireland team for Saturday's match against Wales.

The Leicester Tigers captain, recalled for the win over England 10 days ago, will claim his 64th cap as skipper Brian O’Driscoll earns his 100th.

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has named an unchanged starting XV as he prepares for the Croke Park encounter.

There is one change to the replacements with full-back Rob Kearney returning in place of Andrew Trimble after his recovery from the injury picked up in the game against France.

Ireland team
15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
14 Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
13 Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster, capt)
12 Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
10 Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
9 Tomas O'Leary (Dolphin/Munster)
1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
3 John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
4 Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
5 Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
6 Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
7 David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
8 Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

16 Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17 Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
18 Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
19 Shane Jennings (St.Mary's College/Leinster)
20 Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21 Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
22 Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster)