Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Geordan to lead out Irish against Maori

Figure image
Geordan Murphy will captain Ireland for the first time when he leads out the side for Friday's match against New Zealand Maori in Rotorua.

The Leicester Tigers captain, who ended the domestic season by lifting the Guinness Premiership silverware for the second successive year, gained his 67th cap in the defeat by the All Blacks on Saturday.

He will be joined in the Ireland side by Welford Road team-mate Johne Murphy, one of four uncapped players in the Ireland starting line-up.

Live coverage of Friday's game will be shown on Sky Sports 1/HD1 from 8.30am.

Ireland XV:
15 Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers, captain)
14 Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster)
13 Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
12 Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
11 Johne Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
10 Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
9 Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
1 Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)
2 John Fogarty (De la Salle Palmerston/Leinster)
3 Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
4 Ed O’Donoghue (Ballymena/Ulster)
5 Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
6 Rhys Ruddock (Blackrock College/Leinster)
7 Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)
8 Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)

16 Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17 John Hayes (Shannon/Munster)
18 Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
19 David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
20 Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
21 Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
22 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)