Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Gillanders helps England U-19 to second win

Figure image
Leicester lock Gregor Gillanders is closing in on a place in the semi-finals of the IRB U-19 World Championships with his England colleagues.

England edged past Argentina 17-15 in Belfast on Monday but, after failing to gain a bonus point, they now need to take something out of Friday's final group game against New Zealand to stay in contention.

London Wasps No.8 Hugo Ellis scored his seventh try in four games this season, with the other score coming from Newcastle Falcons centre Alex Tait. Saracens full-back Alex Goode added two conversions and a penalty.

Gillanders, who also started the opening 20-12 victory over Samoa, was included in the second row before being replaced by Scott Hobson of the Cornish Pirates early in the second half.

England U-19

Goode (Saracens); David Smith (Northampton Saints), Tom Bedford (Exeter Chiefs), Alex Tait (Newcastle Falcons), Miles Benjamin (Worcester Warriors) (Noah Cato, Saracens, 62); Gareth Griffiths (Bristol Rugby), Richard Bolt (Exeter Chiefs) (Danny Pointon, Northampton Saints 44); Jack Steadman (Bristol Rugby) (Billy Moss, Bath Rugby 50), Scott Freer (Leeds Tykes), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish) (Nathan Catt, Bath Rugby, 62), Ben Thomas (Saracens), Gregor Gillanders (Leicester Tigers) (Scott Hobson, Cornish Pirates 44), Matt Cox (Worcester Warriors), Garth Dew (Sale Sharks) (Andy Saull, Saracens & Bancrofts School, 63), Hugo Ellis (London Wasps, captain)

Replacements (not used)

Joe Williams (Cinderford), Jon Fisher (London Irish & Wellington College), Joe Simpson (London Wasps), Adam Greendale (Leeds Tykes & Hymers College), Greg King (Worcester Warriors & Hartpury College)

Argentina U-19

Belisario Agulla (captain); Ignacio Poet Belmonte, Juan Pablo Socino, Federico Sanchez, Diego Palma; Matias Thomas, Martin Landajo; Juan Figallo, Roberton Tejerizo, Facundo Corimayo, Jorge Hill Basilio, Anibal Panzeira Garrido, Marcos Insua, Guido Lofiego, Francisco Panessi


Ignacio di Santi, Jeronimo Negroto, Javier Perez, Lisandro Ahaulli de Chaza, Juan Pablo Estelles, Federico Durba, Guillermo Roan, Nicolas Andres, Juan Mangione, Manuel Trebucq, Cristian Etchart