Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Goneva up for RPA Player of the Year

Figure image
Vereniki Goneva is up for the Computacenter Players' Player of the Year Award 2014, as voted for by Aviva Premiership players.

Goneva has already landed the Players’ Player and Supporters Player of the Year awards with Tigers and was shortlisted for Player of the Year at the Aviva Premiership awards.

The Fiji international is nominated alongside Mike Brown and Danny Care (Harlequins), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints) and Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors).

He said: “I feel very happy to be recognised. There are so many big players in the Aviva Premiership, so to be nominated amongst guys like Mike Brown and Danny Care, makes me very proud.”

His Tigers teammate Owen Williams has been nominated in the LV= Young Player of the Year category.

The winner will be announced at The RPA Computacenter Players’ Awards 2014, held at Battersea Evolution on Wednesday, May 21.

The Computacenter Players’ Player of the Year Award 2014 nominees:
Mike Brown – Harlequins
Danny Care – Harlequins
George Ford – Baths Rugby
Vereniki Goneva – Leicester Tigers
Samu Manoa – Northhampton Saints
Chris Pennell – Worcester Warriors

Previous winners of the Computacenter Players’ Player of the Year Award:
2013: Christian Wade – London Wasps
2012: Nick Evans – Harlequins
2011: Thomas Waldrom – Leicester Tigers
2010: Schalk Brits – Saracens
2009: Seilala Mapusua – London Irish
2008: Riki Flutey – London Wasps
2007: Glen Jackson – Saracens
2006: Jason White – Sale Sharks
2005: Martin Corry - Leicester Tigers
2004: Bruce Reihana – Northampton Saints
2003: Jonny Wilkinson – Newcastle Falcons
2002: Jason Robinson – Sale Sharks
2001: Mike Catt – Bath Rugby
2000: Pat Lam – Northampton Saints
1999: Neil Back – Leicester Tigers