Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Goode makes it six

Figure image
Andy Goode has been named on the bench to take Leicester Tigers' representation in the England squad for Sunday's Investec Challenge match against New Zealand up to six.

Fly-half Goode, who has seven caps, has been announced among the replacements while Martin Corry, Ben Kay, Lewis Moody, Julian White and George Chuter have already been named in the starting XV. Corry is the captain, while lock Kay is one of the vice-captains.

"Martin captained the England team very well last year and throughout those matches led the side from the front," said England head coach Andy Robinson. "Charlie Hodgson, Ben Kay and Shaun Perry have been named as vice-captains for this game. All three have a major impact on the way we play and I am very confident they will give Martin valuable assistance."

Gloucester centre Anthony Allen and Bristol scrum-half Perry were named as the debutants in the team, and Wasps wing Paul Sackey was also called up for his debut after Mark Cueto was ruled out by injury. Sale Sharks winger Cueto has an injury to his left ankle which has failed to recover sufficiently.

Josh Lewsey (knee), Olly Morgan (shoulder) and James Forrester (knee) were not considered because of injury, while Mathew Tait has returned to Newcastle Falcons to continue his rehabilitation after a thigh strain. Wasps full-back Mark van Gisbergen was added to the training on squad on Tuesday and has been handed a place on the bench alongside Goode, Bath hooker Lee Mears, Gloucester's Peter Richards and Sale trio Stuart Turner, Chris Jones and Magnus Lund.

England (v New Zealand, Sunday, 3.30pm, Twickenham Stadium)

15      Iain Balshaw (Gloucester Rugby)
14      Paul Sackey (London Wasps)
13      Jamie Noon (Newcastle Falcons)
12      Anthony Allen (Gloucester Rugby)
11      Ben Cohen (Northampton Saints)
10      Charlie Hodgson (vice-captain, Sale Sharks)
9        Shaun Perry (vice-capt, Bristol Rugby)
1        Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks)
2          George Chuter (Leicester Tigers)
3          Julian White (Leicester Tigers)
4        Danny Grewcock (Bath Rugby)
5          Ben Kay (vice-capt, Leicester Tigers)
6          Martin Corry (capt, Leicester Tigers)
7          Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers)
8        Pat Sanderson (Worcester Warriors)


16. Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
17. Stuart Turner (Sale Sharks)
18. Chris Jones (Sale Sharks)
19. Magnus Lund (Sale Sharks)
20. Peter Richards (Gloucester Rugby)
21. Andy Goode (Leicester Tigers)
22. Mark Van Gisbergen (London Wasps)