Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Grand Slam for skipper Ford

Figure image
Leicester Tigers fly-half George Ford led England Under-18s to victory over Ireland - and the Grand Slam for the third successive year.

Ford ran in one of England’s six tries and added four conversions and a penalty in a 41-17 win at Llandovery.

He said: "We've got better as the season's gone on and the more we've played together. We've managed to keep our standards high and score some good tries.

"The way we play, anyone in the team can score and everyone gets involved. That's the way we've trained and it's paid off."

Ireland U18: Aaron Thomas; Mark Corballis (Steve Macauley 51), Peter Nelson (JJ Hanrahan 61), Patrick Jackson, Sam Coghlan-Murray; Cahal Marsh (Richard McMaster 67), Luke McGrath; Rory Harrison (Des Merrey 39), Niall Scammell, Kye McCall (Peter Reilly 23-33, 44), Shane Buckley, Jack Conan, Aaron Coneelly (Eoin Cross 60), Conor Gilsenan, Daniel Qualter.
Scorers: Try: Scammell. Penalties: Jackson 3. Drop goal: Marsh.

England Under-18: Ben Ransom (Tonbridge & Saracens); Marland Yarde (Whitgift & London Irish), Elliot Daly (Whitgift & London Wasps), Ryan Mills (Hartpury Coll & Gloucester), Charlie Walker (Oakham); George Ford (Rishworth & Leicester Tigers, captain), Joel Hodgson (RGS Newcastle & Newcastle Falcons); Nick Auterac (Oaklands College & Saracens), Koree Britton (Ivybridge Coll & Exeter Chiefs), Anthony Brennan (Twyford CofE & London Wasps), Dominic Barrow (Prince Henry's GS Otley & Leeds Carnegie), Sam Twomey (Dulwich Coll & Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Harrow & London Wasps), Chris Walker (Prince Henry's Otley & Leeds Carnegie), Matt Kvesic (Worcester Sixth Form Coll & Worcester Warriors).
Replacements: Nathan Moris (Sedbergh & Newcastle Falcons) for Britton 60, Kyle Sinckler (Epsom Coll & Harlequins) for Brennan 44, George Merrick (Whitgift & Harlequins) for Twomey 60, Will Skuse (Bryanston & Bath Rugby) for Chris Walker 44, Dan Robson (Hartpury Coll & Gloucester Rugby) for Hodgson 40, Jamie Elliott (Bedford & Northampton Saints) for Daly 58, Mark Jennings (Lymm HS & Sale Sharks) for Yarde 53.
Scorers: Tries: Britton, Charlie Walker, Chris Walker, Daly, Ford, Ransom. Conversions: Ford 4. Penalty: Ford.
Yellow card: Sinckler 69.