Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Guinness Premiership Final team news

Figure image
Geordan Murphy will lead out Leicester Tigers in the Guinness Premiership Final at Twickenham on Saturday.

The Tigers captain will be playing in his sixth successive league final for the club, while forwards George Chuter and Louis Deacon will be playing in their fifth final.

Head coach Richard Cockerill has made just one change from the matchday 23 that came through the semi-final victory over Bath, with England international centre Dan Hipkiss recalled among the replacements.

“There are two very good teams in the final and I think it will be the same as the semi-final with the team that makes the fewest mistakes, takes their chances and manages to put the pressure on the opposition coming through in the end,” said Cockerill.

“Saracens are well drilled, well disciplined and they don’t give much away. To win twice at Northampton and also at Leicester in the last few weeks of the season shows the kind of side they are.

“Finals are big days out for everybody and the enthusiasm to go out there on the big day is as big as ever for us.”

Leicester Tigers (v Saracens, Guinness Premiership Final, Twickenham, Saturday 5.30pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (c)
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Matt Smith
12 Anthony Allen
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Toby Flood
9 Ben Youngs
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 George Chuter
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Louis Deacon
5 Geoff Parling
6 Tom Croft
7 Lewis Moody
8 Jordan Crane

16 Joe Duffey
17 Dan Cole
18 Boris Stankovich
19 Craig Newby
20 Ben Woods
21 James Grindal
22 Jeremy Staunton
23 Dan Hipkiss

Saracens recall Steve Borthwick to the second row in the only change from the side that beat Northampton Saints in the semi-finals two weeks ago.

“It’s fantastic to have such a world-class lock back in the mix,” said director of rugby Brendan Venter. “We’re very happy to have him back and it will be good for the team.

"It will be a tough encounter but we know what the challenge in front of us is going to be like.”

Saracens line-up
15 Alex Goode
14 Michael Tagicakibau
13 Adam Powell
12 Brad Barritt
11 Chris Wyles
10 Glen Jackson
9 Neil de Kock
1 Matias Aguero
2 Schalk Brits
3 Petrus du Plessis
4 Steve Borthwick
5 Hugh Vyvyan
6 Jacques Burger
7 Andy Saull
8 Ernst Joubert  (c)


16 Fabio Ongaro
17 Rhys Gill
18 Richard Skuse
19 Mouritz Botha
20 Justin Melck
21 Justin Marshall
22 Derick Hougaard
23 Kameli Ratuvou