Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Hamilton in line for Scot's landmark

Figure image
Tigers second row James Hamilton is in line to become the 1,000th player to play for Scotland when he takes his spot among the replacements for this Saturday's clash with Romania at Murrayfield. The 23-year-old has been in fine form for Leicester this season and his progress has been duly noted by national coach Frank Hadden ahead of Scotland's autumn international series.

With two uncapped players making the starting XV in Glasgow Warriors no.8 Johnnie Beattie and Edinburgh Rugby centre Rob Dewey, either Hamilton or Edinburgh's David Callam will have the honour of becoming the 1,000th Scottish international.

"I'm keen to see how James fits in," said Scotland head coach Frank Hadden. "He's a big man and athletic with it, and competition for places is growing all the time. That's good as we gear towards the World Cup.

"There were a number of players I was particularly keen to see playing at this level - Phil Godman, Dewey, Beattie, Euan Murray and Hamilton and on that basis I've looked at the balance of the rest of the side and how best these players can be accommodated.

"That said, what this match is about is building on the progress we made last season and fielding a winning Scotland team. I'm not sacrificing our goal of winning a fourth successive game at Murrayfield for the first time in 11 years simply to introduce new players."

Scotland team to play Romania in the Bank of Scotland Corporate Autumn Test at Murrayfield on Saturday November 11, kick-off 2.30pm:

15 Hugo Southwell (Edinburgh Rugby)
14 Simon Webster (Edinburgh Rugby)
13 Marcus Di Rollo (Edinburgh Rugby)
12 Rob Dewey (Edinburgh Rugby)
11 Sean Lamont (Northampton Saints)
10 Phil Godman (Edinburgh Rugby)
9 Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby)

1 Gavin Kerr (Border Reivers)
2 Dougie Hall (Edinburgh Rugby)
3 Euan Murray (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Nathan Hines (Perpignan)
5 Scott Murray (Edinburgh Rugby)
6 Jason White (Sale Sharks, captain)
7 Kelly Brown (Border Reivers)
8 Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)


16 Scott Lawson (Glasgow Warriors)
17 Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby)
18 Craig Smith (Edinburgh Rugby)
19 James Hamilton (Leicester Tigers)
20 David Callam (Edinburgh Rugby)
21 Chris Cusiter (Border Reivers)
22 Chris Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby)