Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Hamilton included in Scotland tour squad

Figure image

Luke Hamilton has been named in a 33-man Scotland squad for their summer Tests.

The Leicester Tigers back row, who won his first cap in the autumn Test against New Zealand, is joined in the squad by Leicester-bound David Denton as the Scots prepare for tour fixtures against Canada, USA and Argentina.

Leicester Tigers prop Sam Grahamslaw has also been named in the Scotland Under-20s squad ahead of the Junior World Championships in France next month.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend said: “There are twin goals for this tour – the first is to build on the work we’ve done so far this season and finish with improved performances. We also have the Rugby World Cup in our thoughts as this will be our last tour before we leave for Japan next year.”

The senior squad has an average age of 25 and contains six uncapped players. With John Barclay rested, Townsend has handed the tour captaincy to hooker Stuart McInally.

Scotland squad

Forwards: Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh Rugby), Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby), David Denton (Worcester Warriors), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Toulouse), Luke Hamilton (Leicester Tigers), Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby)(c), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby)

Backs: Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), James Lang (Harlequins), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens)