Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Hardwick to make first U20s Six Nations start

Figure image

Tom Hardwick will make his first start of the U20 Six Nations after being selected in the England starting XV to face Scotland on Friday evening.

Hardwick starts at fly-half for the game in Edinburgh at Myreside (7.30pm).

His Leicester Tigers team-mates Jordan Olowofela and Sam Lewis also start, while Ben White and Joe Heyes have been named on the bench.

Ollie Lawrence, Tom Seabrook and Cadan Murley are all capped for the first time at U20 level, while Beck Cutting and Sean Reffell could do so off the bench. Will Butler will captain the team from inside centre.

England have recorded bonus-point victories in their opening two fixtures against Italy and Wales.
Head coach Steve Bates said: “We had a much-improved performance against Wales, but we are still looking to improve in certain areas of our game which we felt did not go quite as well as we would have liked.

“We saw some good individual performances against Wales, now we want to play cohesively as a team.

“Scotland at home will be dangerous opponents, their previous results are not necessarily an indicator of a side’s potential as it takes a while to get together as a team in this tournament and we’re expecting a spirited performance off them.”

England U20s team to face Scotland
15 Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers)
14 Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby)
13 Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors)
12 Will Butler (c) (Worcester Warriors)

11 Cadan Murley (Harlequins)
10 Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers)
9 Rory Brand (London Irish)
1 Alex Seville (Gloucester Rugby)
2 Gabriel Oghre (Wasps)
3 Ehren Painter (Northampton Saints)
4 Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)
5 Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers)
6 Josh Basham (London Irish)
7 Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester Rugby)
8 Sam Moore (Sale Sharks)

16 Beck Cutting (Worcester Warriors)
17 Toby Trinder (Northampton Saints)
18 Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers)
19 James Scott (Worcester Warriors)
20 Sean Reffell (Saracens)
21 Ben White (Leicester Tigers)
22 James Grayson (Northampton Saints)
23 Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)