Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Heineken Cup referee appointments

Figure image
Nigel Owens of Wales will referee the Heineken Cup Round 6 match between Leicester Tigers and Ulster Rugby at Welford Road on Saturday, January 18.

The referees for Rounds 5 and 6 of the European competitions have been announced today following a meeting of the ERC Match Officials sub-committee. The meeting reviewed match official performances across all tournaments in conjunction with feedback from the referee managers in each Union and club coaching staff.

Romaine Poite of France will officiate in the Round 5 match between Benetton Treviso and Tigers in Italy on January 11.

Television Match Officials will be in operation at all Heineken Cup games and at all televised Amlin Challenge Cup matches during Rounds 5 and 6. The appointed referees will adhere to the current global law trials for the scrum engagement sequence and for the extended powers of the TMO.

Friday, January 10

Pool 4: Racing Metro v Scarlets – Luke Pearce (Eng)
Pool 5: Ulster Rugby v Montpellier – Wayne Barnes (Eng)
Saturday, January 11
Pool 1: Castres Olympique v Leinster Rugby – Nigel Owens (Wal)
Pool 2: Exeter Chiefs v Glasgow Warriors – George Clancy (Ire)
Pool 2: Toulon v Cardiff Blues – Greg Garner (Eng)
Pool 3: Connacht Rugby v Zebre – Neil Paterson (Sco)
Pool 4: Harlequins v ASM Clermont Auvergne – John Lacey (Ire)
Pool 5: Benetton Treviso v Leicester Tigers – Romain Poite (Fra)
Pool 6: Gloucester Rugby v Munster Rugby – Leighton Hodges (Wal)
Pool 6: Edinburgh Rugby v Perpignan – Peter Fitzgibbon (Ire)
Sunday, January 12
Pool 1: Ospreys v Northampton Saints – Pascal Gauzère (Fra)
Pool 3: Toulouse v Saracens – Alain Rolland (Ire)

Friday, January 17

Pool 1: Northampton Saints v Castres Olympique – Alain Rolland (Ire)
Pool 1: Leinster Rugby v Ospreys – Romain Poite (Fra)
Saturday, January 18
Pool 2: Cardiff Blues v Exeter Chiefs – John Lacey (Ire)
Pool 2: Glasgow Warriors v Toulon – JP Doyle (Eng)
Pool 3: Saracens v Connacht Rugby – Leighton Hodges (Wal)
Pool 3: Zebre v Toulouse – Dudley Phillips (Ire)
Pool 5: Leicester Tigers v Ulster Rugby – Nigel Owens (Wal)
Pool 5: Montpellier v Benetton Treviso – Ian Davies (Wal)
Sunday, January 19
Pool 4: ASM Clermont Auvergne v Racing Metro – Greg Garner (Eng)
Pool 4: Scarlets v Harlequins – Jerome Garces (Fra)
Pool 6: Munster Rugby v Edinburgh Rugby – Wayne Barnes (Eng)
Pool 6: Perpignan v Gloucester Rugby – George Clancy (Ire)