Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Heineken Cup team news: Clermont v Tigers

Figure image
Leicester Tigers will make a 12th appearance in the Heineken Cup quarter-finals when they run out against ASM Clermont Auvergne in the Stade Marcel Michelin on Saturday.

Defending English champions Tigers make two changes to the starting line-up following last Saturday’s league win at Northampton Saints, with Mathew Tait and Blaine Scully coming into the backline.

Full-back Tait was a late withdrawal from the team at Northampton while Scully returns after playing his part as the USA confirmed their qualification for the Rugby World Cup with play-off victory over Uruguay last weekend.

Ed Slater captains the club in Europe for the first time in an unchanged forward pack, lining up at lock alongside Louis Deacon who makes his 68th appearance in the northern hemisphere’s elite club tournament.

French scrum-half David Mele claims a place among the replacements after sitting out the win at Northampton and Thomas Waldrom also returns to the 23-man squad.

Kick-off is at 5pm local time, 4pm UK time. Live coverage is supplied by Sky Sports and will be shown in Final Whistle at Welford Road.

Leicester Tigers (v ASM Clermont Auvergne, away, Saturday 5pm local time)
15 Mathew Tait
14 Blaine Scully
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi
12 Anthony Allen
11 Vereniki Goneva
10 Owen Williams
9 Ben Youngs
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 Tom Youngs
3 Logovi’i Mulipola
4 Louis Deacon
5 Ed Slater (c)
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Julian Salvi
8 Jordan Crane

16 Rob Hawkins
17 Boris Stankovich
18 Fraser Balmain
19 Graham Kitchener
20 Thomas Waldrom
21 David Mele
22 Toby Flood
23 Scott Hamilton

ASM Clermont Auvergne
15 Jean-Marcellin Buttin
14 Noa Nakaitaci
13 Aurélien Rougerie (c)
12 Wesley Fofana
11 Naipolioni Nalaga
10 Brock James
9 Morgan Parra
1 Thomas Domingo
2 Benjamin Kayser
3 Davit Zirakashvili
4 Jamie Cudmore
5 Nathan Hines
6 Julien Bonnaire
7 Damien Chouly
8 Fritz Lee

16 Ti'i Paulo
17 Vincent Debaty
18 Clément Ric
19 Julien Pierre
20 Alexandre Lapandry
21 Thierry Lacrampe
22 Mike Delany
23 Benson Stanley