Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Heineken Cup team news: Leicester Tigers v Ulster

Figure image
International duo Horacio Agulla and Ben Youngs return to the Leicester Tigers squad for Saturday's Heineken Cup match against Ulster Rugby at Welford Road (6pm).

Argentina’s Agulla takes the No14 shirt after missing the Round 1 win over Aironi, while scrum-half Youngs is included among the replacements following his return to fitness after his World Cup campaign.

Captain Geordan Murphy will equal predecessor Martin Corry’s record number of Heineken Cup appearances for the club as he runs out in Tigers colours for the 69th time in the competition.

Niall Morris, a try-scorer in the win in Italy last weekend, reverts to the replacements to make room for Agulla who has scored twice in three appearances this season.

Tickets for Saturday and the next home game in Europe’s elite club tournament – against French visitors Clermont Auvergne on Saturday, December 17 – are available now. Call the Tigers ticket hotline on 0844 856 1880, or book in person at Welford Road or the Club Store in Market Street, Leicester. Or book online and collect on your way to the game.

Leicester Tigers (v Ulster Rugby, Welford Road, Saturday 6pm)
15 Geordan Murphy (c)
14 Horacio Agulla
13 Matt Smith
12 Andy Forsyth
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Toby Flood
9 Sam Harrison
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 George Chuter
3 Dan Cole
4 Louis Deacon
5 Geoff Parling
6 Tom Croft
7 Julian Salvi
8 Thomas Waldrom

16 Rob Hawkins
17 Boris Stankovich
18 Martin Castrogiovanni
19 George Skivington
20 Steve Mafi
21 Ben Youngs
22 Jeremy Staunton
23 Niall Morris

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin been forced into two changes to his starting team following victory over Clermont Auvergne last Saturday.

Paddy Wallace will miss the trip after an operation to repair tendon damage in his thumb, and prop John Afoa is in New Zealand temporarily.

Nevin Spence replaces Wallace, while Declan Fitzpatrick starts at tighthead prop.

Ulster Rugby
15 Simon Danielli
14 Andrew Trimble
13 Darren Cave
12 Nevin Spence
11 Craig Gilroy
10 Ian Humphreys
9 Paul Marshall
1 Tom Court
2 Rory Best
3 Declan Fitzpatrick
4 Johann Muller (c)
5 Dan Tuohy
6 Stephen Ferris
7 Chris Henry
8 Pedrie Wannenburg

16 Nigel Brady
17 Paddy McAllister
18 Adam Macklin
19 Lewis Stevenson
20 Willie Faloon
21 Ian Porter
22 Paddy Jackson
23 Adam D'Arcy